Dana Stabenow biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dana Stabenow

Dana Stabenow

Dana Stabenow Biography

Dana Stabenow was born in Anchorage, Alaska on March 27, 1952, and raised on a 75-foot fish tender in the Gulf of Alaska.

She graduated from Seldovia High School in 1969 and put herself through college working as an egg grader, bookkeeper and expediter for Whitney-Fidalgo Seafoods in Anchorage.

She received a B.A. in journalism from the University of Alaska in 1973 and later enrolled in UAA’s MFA program, from which I graduated in 1985. Her first novel, Second Star was bought by Ace Science Fiction in 1990. Her first novel of the Kate Shugak mystery series, A Cold Day for Murder, won the Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original in 1993.

Dana Stabenow's website

This bio was last updated on 04/04/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

In a short Q&A, Dana Stabenow discusses her Kate Shugak series and lists the things she wishes people knew about Alaska.

Why did you take a break from your series to write a thriller, and how does it feel to return to the Kate Shugak series?

To see if I could, to flex muscles between my ears that I didn’t even know were there. And because for research I got to go on patrol in the Bering Sea with the US Coast Guard. And after creating an entirely new world, it’s fun to go back and revisit the old one. What’s Kate getting up to now? What? What!

Can you discuss some of Kate's internal and external pressures/challenges in her community?

She’s being pushed to take a public place in the community, and she is an intensely private person. She’s not a person used to compromise, and compromise is what public governance is all about. It’s going to be interesting to see if she can succeed.

Are you anything like Kate? In what way?

She is an intensely private person. I’m like her in that. Otherwise, my mom’s friend Darlene says that Kate is me and my best friend Kathy “smooshed together” into one person. That’s about as close as anyone’s ever come to plucking out the heart of Kate’s mystery.

What do you wish people knew about Alaska, and the people who live ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dana Stabenow at BookBrowse
Bad Blood jacket Restless in the Grave jacket Though Not Dead jacket A Night Too Dark jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dana Stabenow but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr

    "Nevada Barr has carved out her own fictional fiefdom, creating a body of work like no other," the San Diego Union Tribune remarked in 1996 upon the publication of the fifth book in Barr’s acclaimed series featuring ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Deeper Sleep

    Try:
    Hunting Season
    by Nevada Barr

  • C.J. Box

    C.J. Box

    C. J. Box is the author of over ten novels including the award-winning Joe Pickett series. He’s the winner of the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 (France), the Macavity Award, the Gumshoe Award, the Barry Award, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Deeper Sleep

    Try:
    Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel
    by C.J. Box

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.