MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Sean Rowe biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sean Rowe

Sean Rowe

Sean Rowe Biography

Sean Danger Rowe was born in Stevens Point, Wisconsin, in 1964. Rowe grew up outside Cleveland, Ohio; in Kalamazoo, Michigan; and in Helsinki, Finland. At age 11 he moved with his parents, brother and sister to the place he considered his hometown: Douglas, a farming community near the Okefenokee Swamp in southeastern Georgia.

Rowe attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as a Morehead Scholar, graduating in 1988 with a bachelor's degree in journalism. He joined the staff of the Miami Herald as a general assignment reporter upon graduation. From 1990-1999 he worked as a staff writer for the weekly Miami New Times and New Times Broward-Palm Beach. During part of this time he also worked as a registered nurse on a cancer ward.

In the spring of 1999, after being hit by a train and sustaining serious injuries, Rowe left South Florida and moved to a friend's farm in North Carolina. There he recuperated and began writing fiction. After completing a mystery novel entitled Magic City, he wrote a thriller called Fever.

Rowe lived in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He was a member of the Authors Guild, the Academy of American Poets, and the North Carolina Writers' Network. He served as a national editor for New Times Inc.

Sean Rowe's website

This bio was last updated on 06/17/2011. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sean Rowe at BookBrowse
Fever jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sean Rowe but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

    Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

    Luiz Alfredo Garcia Roza is a retired Brazilian professor. As an academic he wrote philosophy and psychology textbooks. After retiring from academia he became known as a novelist and shared the Prêmio Jabuti for ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fever

    Try:
    A Window in Copacabana
    by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

  • Michael Gruber

    Michael Gruber

    Michael Gruber was born and raised in New York City, and educated in its public schools. He went to Columbia, earning a BA in English literature. After college he did editorial work at various small magazines in New York,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fever

    Try:
    Tropic of Night
    by Michael Gruber

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.