Jeff Abbott biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jeff Abbott

Jeff Abbott

Jeff Abbott Biography

Jeff Abbott is a suspense novelist. He is published in twenty languages and has been a bestseller in the US, the UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Australia and Portugal. His novels Panic and Collision have been optioned for film and are in script development.

Abbott is a three-time nominee for the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Allan Poe Award and a two-time nominee for the Anthony Award. His novel, Panic, was also nominated for Best Novel for the Thriller Award. All of his Whit Mosley suspense novels have been honored with nominations for major writing awards. His other books include The Only Good Yankee, Promises of Home, Distant Blood, Black Jack Point, Cut and Run, The Last Minute, Downfall, and Inside man.

Abbot's short stories have been anthologized in collections such as Best American Mystery Stories and The World's Finest Crime and Mystery Stories.

Abbott graduated from Rice University with a degree in History and English, and worked as a creative director at an advertising agency before writing full-time. He lives in Austin.

Jeff Abbott's website

This bio was last updated on 10/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Jeff Abbott answers questions about his writing habits, the music he listens to while writing, and offers advice for budding authors.

Q: What influences have there been in your writing?

A: First my grandparents, who were great Southern-style storytellers. My grandmother was a 2nd-grade teacher for 37 years; she introduced me to books and taught me to read at an early age. (I wasn't extra bright - she was just a fantastic teacher.) In terms of other authors, you can't raise yourself up to your idols, but I think I've been influenced most by the short stories of Eudora Welty and the novels of John D. MacDonald, who are decidedly a mismatched pair. But both brilliant in their own ways.

Q: How long have you been writing?

A: I wrote a "novel" (I use the term loosely) in high school. Handwritten, about five hundred pages. Truly horrible. But I had always written, usually stories revolving television shows I'd like to have seen. I never formally studied writing but I got serious about it in 1992, and my first novel was published in 1994.

Q: You've moved from writing more traditional mysteries to more mainstream suspense. Why?

A: It was a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jeff Abbott at BookBrowse
Inside Man jacket The Last Minute jacket Collision jacket Panic jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jeff Abbott but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lee Child

    Lee Child

    Lee Child was born in the exact geographic center of England, in the heart of the industrial badlands. Never saw a tree until he was twelve. It was the sort of place where if you fell in the river, you had to go to the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Panic

    Try:
    Echo Burning
    by Lee Child

  • Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben was born and raised in New Jersey.  After graduating from Amherst College as political science major, he worked in the travel industry. He now lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Panic

    Try:
    The Innocent
    by Harlan Coben

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...
  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers

At once a love story, a history lesson and a beautifully written tale of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Strangers in Budapest
    by Jessica Keener

    Strong characters and a riveting plot combine in this psychological thriller set in Budapest.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.