Michelle Paver biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michelle Paver

Michelle Paver

Michelle Paver Biography

Born in Malawi to Belgian and South African parents, Michelle Paver moved to Wimbledon, England as a young girl. She was educated at The Study and Wimbledon High School. After reading biochemistry at University of Oxford, where she earned a first-class degree, she became a partner in a London law firm. Her father's death in 1996 prompted her to take a one-year sabbatical, during which she travelled around France and America and wrote her first book, Without Charity. She resigned from practicing law soon afterwards to concentrate on writing.

Since the age of ten, Paver has dreamed about running with the wild wolves in the prehistoric forest. Writing The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series has been a way for her to fulfill this dream. To research Wolf Brother, Paver traveled through the forests of northern Finland and Lapland. Michelle Paver is also the author of a series of books for children set during the Bronze Age entitled Gods and Warriors.

She is also the author of several adult novels, including A Place in the Hills, The Shadow Catcher, Fever Hill, The Serpent's Tooth, and Dark Matter. Her most recent works include The Eye of The Falcon

Michelle Paver's website

This bio was last updated on 05/30/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Travel back in time 6,000 years, to the ancient forests inhabited by our stone age ancestors with Michelle Paver, author of the exceptional Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series for children and teens.

Michelle Paver, author of The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series, tells us of her experiences researching pre-historic clans, her love of wolves, and her close encounter with a bear!

Why do so many children love the idea of being snowed in or shipwrecked; of having to survive on one's own? When I was a child, I was no exception. I wanted to hunt with a bow and arrow like the Stone Age people; to skin deer and build my own shelter. And I desperately wanted a wolf. As we lived in London, my options were limited. I bought a rabbit from the butcher's "with the fur still on", and skinned it and cured its hide with salt. I got rid of my bed, and slept on the floor. I dug up the lawn to grow obscure medicinal herbs. But although my parents tolerated the herbs and the sleeping on the floor, they drew the line at a wolf, and got me a spaniel instead.

Then I grew up, and it seemed as if all that Stone Age stuff had gone for good. But of course it hadn't. It was just simmering away in my subconscious, waiting to re-surface.

It did so briefly when I was an undergraduate at Oxford, trying (as yet unsuccessfully) to write novels. I had a stab at a story about a boy and a wolf cub, but although I loved ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michelle Paver at BookBrowse
Gods and Warriors jacket Soul Eater jacket Spirit Walker jacket Wolf Brother jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michelle Paver but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Da Chen

    Da Chen

    Da Chen grew up in the deep south of China, running barefoot in muddy fields and riding the backs of water buffaloes. As the grandson of a disgraced landowner, he was a victim of communist political persecution and hollowing ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Wolf Brother

    Try:
    Wandering Warrior
    by Da Chen

  • Frank Cottrell Boyce

    Frank Cottrell Boyce

    Frank Cottrell Boyce was born in Liverpool in 1959 to an Irish Catholic family. He graduated from Keble College, Oxford, where he continued his studies to receive a doctorate in English.

    Boyce became a screenwriter, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Spirit Walker

    Try:
    The Unforgotten Coat
    by Frank Cottrell Boyce

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Orchard
    The Orchard
    by David Hopen
    The protagonist of David Hopen's first novel, The Orchard, is 17-year-old Aryeh Eden, a Brooklyn boy...
  • Book Jacket: What Are You Going Through
    What Are You Going Through
    by Sigrid Nunez
    Shortly into What Are You Going Through by Sigrid Nunez, it becomes clear that the narrator is ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose & Fiona Davis (editors)

    One City.
    One Movement.
    A World of Stories.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.