Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

Richard Lewis biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Richard Lewis
http://www.richardlewisauthor.com/

Richard Lewis

Richard Lewis Biography

The son of American missionaries, Richard Lewis was born in Indonesia and attended boarding school in Java. After attending college in the United States, he returned to Indonesia, where he lives with his wife and children.

He is the author of Monster's Proof, The Demon Queen and The Killing Sea. His latest forthcoming book is Bones of the Dark Moon, a contemporary novel exploring the massacres of 1965.



This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Richard Lewis talks about Indonesia, the setting for his first novel, The Flame Tree, and his views as to whether Christians and Muslim can happily co-exist.

What led you to write The Flame Tree?
There's two parts to this. One is the story idea itself, which plopped into my head in 1998 when I cut short a surf trip to Indonesia's outer islands because of riots in major cities. What if, I thought, an American boy became caught up in the riots? That was the seed for this particular novel.

Also, I'd gone to university in the States, and I'd long been aware of a general lack of awareness of Islam as a religion. I wanted to address some basics misconceptions that Americans, and in particular those of my own Christian evangelical background, had of Islam. The attacks of September 11 underscored, to me, the importance of this.

You do a great job of showing how the the Muslim and Christian religions are more similar than they are different and you also expose some of the weaknesses in both - to the point that I imagine that you've been criticized by both camps. What has been the reaction to The Flame Tree?
In the novel, I don't address geopolitical issues so much as I do the religious ones. Both Christianity and Islam have historically been proselytizing religions, and that proselytizing element still strongly remains, and adds to a common mistrust. ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Richard Lewis at BookBrowse
The Flame Tree jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Richard Lewis but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tracy Dahlby

    Tracy Dahlby

    Tracy Dahlby, a former managing editor of Newsweek International, is an expert in the affairs of Asia, where he lived for thirteen years, and served as Tokyo bureau chief for the Washington Post and Newsweek. As a regular ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Flame Tree

    Try:
    Allah's Torch
    by Tracy Dahlby

  • Faïza Guène

    Faïza Guène

    Faïza Guène was born in France in 1985 to Algerian parents. First published in French in 2004 when Guène was only 19 years old, Kiffe kiffe demain has since sold 360,000 copies in French and has been translated... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Flame Tree

    Try:
    Kiffe Kiffe Tomorrow
    by Faïza Guène

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Book of Mother
    The Book of Mother
    by Violaine Huisman
    Fictionalizing the life of author Violaine Huisman's own mother, this debut novel is split into ...
  • Book Jacket
    People from My Neighborhood
    by Hiromi Kawakami
    People from My Neighborhood is exactly what it sounds like — an unnamed narrator recounts a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Win Me Something
    by Kyle Lucia Wu
    Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Missing Trees
    The Island of Missing Trees
    by Elif Shafak
    The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak tells a tale of generational trauma, explores identity ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Beasts of a Little Land
    by Juhea Kim

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement.

Who Said...

We should have a great fewer disputes in the world if words were taken for what they are

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Y Can't S T H, G O O T K

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.