Katherine Langrish biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Katherine Langrish

Katherine Langrish

Katherine Langrish Biography

Katherine Langrish grew up in Yorkshire, England and has been writing stories for as long as she can remember.  She graduated from London University in 1979 with a First in English,  and worked in an assortment of odd jobs including waitressing, teaching riding, and six years as Information Officer for Lloyd's Register of Ships in London.   This last was an entertaining post dealing with an assortment of the ship-crazed public, including a man who claimed he could see shipwrecks with his ‘magic eye.’

Married with two daughters, in 1992 Langrish moved to France with her family and became involved in a storytelling group providing weekly stories, drama and activities for children. And the storytelling continued when the family relocated again, this time to the small town of Corning in New York State.

On returning to England in 1999, she began writing Troll Fell, a folklore-based fantasy novel for children set in the Viking age.  It was sold at auction to HarperCollins for a six-figure sum and was followed by the sequels, Troll Mill and Troll Blood.  The books follow the fortunes of young Peer Ulfsson and his friend Hilde in a richly-imagined Scandinavian world.  As Langrish says, ‘I am allergic to heroes with swords, rings and other magical gadgets, so my characters have to work out their problems by their own efforts.’  The final book in the series takes the pair across the Atlantic in a Viking ship to the coasts of ‘Vinland’ (Nova Scotia).  As part of her research she spent ‘one of the best weeks of my life’ learning how to sail a replica Viking ship on Roskilde fjord, Denmark.  Langrish approaches her fantasies as ‘history with the beliefs put back in’ – incorporating the beliefs of people of the past who took for granted the existence of trolls, ghosts, and other spirits.  Her books have been translated into nine languages. 

Katherine Langrish's website

This bio was last updated on 08/10/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Katherine Langrish at BookBrowse
The Shadow Hunt jacket Troll Mill jacket Troll Fell jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Katherine Langrish but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Nancy Farmer

    Nancy Farmer

    Nancy was born in 1941 in Phoenix. She attended Reed College in Portland, Oregon, earning her BA in 1963. Instead of taking a regular job, she joined the Peace Corps and was sent to India (1963-1965). When she returned she ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Troll Fell

    Try:
    The Sea of Trolls
    by Nancy Farmer

  • Michael Gruber

    Michael Gruber

    Michael Gruber was born and raised in New York City, and educated in its public schools. He went to Columbia, earning a BA in English literature. After college he did editorial work at various small magazines in New York,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Troll Fell

    Try:
    The Witch's Boy
    by Michael Gruber

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Blind
    The Blind
    by A.F. Brady
    In The Blind, A. F. Brady, a licensed psychotherapist, takes readers inside a residential ...
  • Book Jacket: The Rules of Magic
    The Rules of Magic
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's Rules of Magic is the long-awaited prequel to one of her most cherished novels,...
  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin

This love story set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower is "vibrant and transportive." (Bustle)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.