MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Twisted: Book summary and reviews of Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson

Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson X
Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2007
    256 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

High school senior Tyler Miller used to be the kind of guy who faded into the background. But since he got busted for doing graffiti on the school, and spent the summer doing outdoor work to pay for it, he stands out like you wouldn’t believe. His new physique attracts the attention of queen bee Bethany Milbury, who just so happens to be his father’s boss’s daughter, the sister of his biggest enemy—and Tyler’s secret crush. And that sets off a string of events and changes that have Tyler questioning his place in the school, in his family, and in the world.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Writing for the first time from a male perspective, Anderson skillfully explores identity and power struggles that all young people will recognize." - Booklist.

"Starred Review. Anderson returns to weightier issues in the style of her most revered work, Speak, and stretches her wings by offering up a male protagonist for the first time." - Kirkus.

"Listed for twelve and up, thematically the text is more appropriate for readers at least fourteen years old." - Children's Literature.

The information about Twisted shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Dawn Marie

One word AMAZING!!
I am reading this book for the YSU English Festival and I must say it is am absolutely AMAZING book!! The way the author throws the main characters emotions is brilliant! If this book were made into a movie I would be first in line to see it! The authors first novel "Speak" was horrible and the comeback she made by writing this book goes to show she is a strong and gifted writer.

cole

amazing book
I think this book is wonderful. I heard of it from my friends so I thought I might try it out and personally I think its the best book ever. It made me feel comfortable with the world of books. I used to hate them.

Sam

Twisted
I think this book was awesome. I picked it because it look short and had a cool cover. After I started reading it I became enthralled by it. It kept me on the edge of my seat. I would recommend this book any day!!

beckieBoB

Wonderful Accident
To be honest the pencil attracted my attention, but the story held it cover to cover. if there's a book I have the time to read again, it'll be this one 9 out of 10 times.

Cat

I'm not much of a reader
I am a freshman in high school and I had to pick a book for summer reading, so I picked this one because it was the shortest one on the list, and now that I read it, I am very happy. It was a great book and actually got me prepared for what can happen.

Auree

Perfect Title!?
The title for this book fits perfectly! Laurie Halse Anderson makes the book keep you on your toes with each new surprise , twist, and turn! This book really is twisted and the ended will definitely have you smiling! I recommend this book to anyone who likes suspense and surprises! ?

...3 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Laurie Halse Anderson Author Biography

Laurie Halse Anderson is the New York Times-bestselling author who writes for kids of all ages. Known for tackling tough subjects with humor and sensitivity, her work has earned numerous international, national, and state awards. She has been nominated three times for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. Two of her books, Speak and Chains, were National Book Award finalists, and Chains was also short-listed for the Carnegie medal.

Link to Laurie Halse Anderson's Website

Name Pronunciation
Laurie Halse Anderson: Halse rhymes with waltz

Other books by Laurie Halse Anderson at BookBrowse
  • Wintergirls jacket

9 more...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.