The American Mission: Book summary and reviews of The American Mission by Matthew Palmer

The American Mission

by Matthew Palmer

The American Mission by Matthew Palmer X
The American Mission by Matthew Palmer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jun 2014
    432 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

After a devastating experience in Darfur strips Alex Baines, former rising star of the State Department, of his security clearances, he is faced with two choices: spend the rest of his career in visa-stamping limbo or move to the private sector. On the verge of resigning, he receives a call from his old mentor with an incredible opportunity to start over, restoring both his security clearances and his reputation.

The job isn't quite what Alex imagined it to be when he finds a shady U.S.-based mining company everywhere he turns.

As violence in the political climate escalates, Alex struggles to balance the best interests of the United States with the fate of the Congo and its people. His loyalties are put to the test as he races to determine the right course of action.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. With their intelligence and humanity, Alex and Marie are easy characters to root for - but even the bad guys are well-drawn and believable. This is first-rate fiction. Let's hope Palmer has a sequel in the works." - Kirkus

"A timely thriller... A satisfying finale and a nuanced view of the diplomatic life." - Publishers Weekly

"Palmer's first novel offers an insider's look at the world of American diplomats stationed in foreign countries…Pair this one with John le Carré's The Constant Gardener." - Booklist

"The American Mission by Matthew Palmer cuts so close to the bone it could be nonfiction... This is a thriller of great integrity and intelligence, written by an author who really knows his stuff. I highly recommend it." - Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Monster of Florence, and co-creator of the legendary Pendergast series.

"Superb! Embassy insider Matthew Palmer takes us inside the secret "club" of international diplomacy, and races his characters through political tightropes and hair-raising encounters." - Tess Gerritsen, Internationally bestselling author of Last to Die

"Talk about writing what you know - Palmer is a veteran diplomat and it shows on every page of his debut novel. Crackling with authenticity that sizzles with emotional clout, this is a superb debut by a coming star in the thriller genre. Five stars by any review." - Steve Berry, New York Times and #1 Internationally Bestselling author of The King's Deception

"The American Mission is one of those wonderful novels, where great story telling is woven through with the intricate detail only a knowledgeable insider can supply.  I loved it!" - Iris Johansen, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Hunting Eve

"Bristling with high adventure and low-down international politics has it all - unforgettable characters, razor-sharp dialog, insider details that only an American diplomat would know, and an exciting love story … Mr. Palmer is a rare talent. You won't want to miss The American Mission." - Gayle Lynds, New York Times-bestselling author of The Book of Spies

"What a fantastic debut thriller...Only an insider with years of service in the diplomatic corps could detail the intrigues of the international and domestic politics of Africa." - Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling and Barry Award-winning author of The Informationist

The information about The American Mission shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Matthew Palmer

Matthew Palmer is a twenty-year veteran of the U.S. Foreign Service, currently serving as political counselor at the American Embassy in Belgrade. A life member of the Council of Foreign Relations, Palmer has worked as a diplomat all over the world. While on the secretary of state's policy planning staff, Palmer helped design and implement the Kimberly Process for certifying African diamonds as "conflict-free." It was this experience in Africa that served as that foundation for The American Mission.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.