The Kill Room: Book summary and reviews of The Kill Room by Jeffery Deaver

The Kill Room

A Lincoln Rhyme Thriller

by Jeffery Deaver

The Kill Room by Jeffery Deaver X
The Kill Room by Jeffery Deaver
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2013
    496 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

It was a "million-dollar bullet," a sniper shot delivered from over a mile away. Its victim was no ordinary mark: he was a United States citizen, targeted by the United States government, and assassinated in the Bahamas.

The nation's most renowned investigator and forensics expert, Lincoln Rhyme, is drafted to investigate. While his partner, Amelia Sachs, traces the victim's steps in Manhattan, Rhyme leaves the city to pursue the sniper himself. As details of the case start to emerge, the pair discovers that not all is what it seems.

When a deadly, knife-wielding assassin begins systematically eliminating all evidence-including the witnesses-Lincoln's investigation turns into a chilling battle of wits against a cold-blooded killer.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. This is Deaver at his very best and not to be missed by any thriller fan." - Publishers Weekly

"Deaver, who can't resist any opportunity for ingenuity... keeps mixing fastballs, curveballs and change-ups." - Kirkus

"Deaver delivers a dark tale of espionage, patriotism and egos as his clever detective puts the pieces of an intricately drawn jigsaw together while a killer targets his investigation." - RT Book Reviews

"A crafty Jeffery Thriller thriller with a timely subject and a new publisher." - Barnes and Noble

The information about The Kill Room shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Cloggie Downunder

Deaver page-turner
The Kill Room is the tenth full-length novel in the Lincoln Rhyme series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. Lincoln Rhyme, Amelia Sachs and the team are asked to assist in the case of an assassination, but the case has political implications. Assistant DA, Nance Laurel is determined to get a conviction against Shreve Metzger, the head of the Washington-sanctioned National Intelligence and Operations Service, for authorising the shooting of an out-spoken anti-American activist in his hotel room in the Bahamas on insufficient evidence of potential threat.

With no crime scene to examine, and virtually no cooperation from the Bahamian Police, Rhyme and Sachs find it difficult to make progress. And keeping their investigation under wraps is difficult as the NIOS seems to have inside information: possible witnesses and sources are being eliminated even as the team are on their way to investigate, and soon, it seems, members of the team themselves are also in danger.

This instalment touches on several topical themes: the ethics of pe-emptive strike; anger management; the selective dissemination of information; and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles. Deaver has Rhyme travelling to the Bahamas, but handles this much more realistically than Patterson’s excursion to Africa for Alex Cross. There is a wealth of information about knives, guns and bullets, as well as quite a bit on recipes and cooking.

Deaver will need to have his own legal team at the ready: there are so many twists and turns in both plot and characters that some reader is bound to sue for whiplash injury. He gives the reader several exciting climaxes and a truly ruthless killer, but nothing is quite what it first seems in this Deaver page-turner.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Jeffery Deaver Author Biography

Jerry Bauer

Jeffery Deaver is an American mystery/crime writer. He has a bachelor of journalism degree from the University of Missouri and a law degree from Fordham University and originally started working as a journalist. He later practiced law before embarking on a successful career as a best-selling novelist.

He has been awarded the Steel Dagger and Short Story Dagger from the British Crime Writers' Association and the Nero Wolfe Award, and he is a three-time recipient of the Ellery Queen Reader's Award for Best Short Story of the Year and a winner of the British Thumping Good Read Award.

His novels have appeared on bestseller lists around the world, including The New York Times, The Times, Italy'sCorriere della Sera, The Sydney Morning Herald, andThe Los Angeles Times.

Deaver's most popular ...

... Full Biography
Author Interview
Link to Jeffery Deaver's Website

Other books by Jeffery Deaver at BookBrowse
  • The Vanished Man jacket
  • The Stone Monkey jacket

18 more...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.