The Jackal's Share: Book summary and reviews of The Jackal's Share by Christopher Morgan Jones

The Jackal's Share

by Christopher Morgan Jones

The Jackal's Share
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Feb 2013
    336 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A desperate race against time that pits modern wealth against buried betrayals, The Jackal's Share carries readers from London to Lake Como, from the rotten alleys of Marrakesh to the shining spires of Dubai. This is the story of corporate investigator Benjamin Webster, returning from his explosive debut in The Silent Oligarch. Now his client is a powerful billionaire whose demands soon thrust Webster from the dreamlike existence of the elite rich into a grimmer world of blackmail, offshore money, arms dealing, and terrorism.

When a prestigious London art dealer is found murdered in Tehran - and the Iranian government accuses him of smuggling rare artifacts - the last person anyone suspects is Darius Qazai. A fabulously successful financier, London luminary, and friend of the deceased, Qazai has directed his life and wealth toward philanthropy, cultural promotion, and peaceful protest against Iran's regime. His fortune is colossal, his character immaculate.

But perhaps not clean enough. Something has scuttled Qazai's recent business deal, some rumor from his past that frightened his American buyers. To prove his innocence Qazai hires a respectable corporate intelligence firm - led by Benjamin Webster - to investigate himself. Webster soon discovers that Qazai's pristine past is actually a dense net of interlocking half-truths: is he a good man or an art smuggler? Is his fortune built on merit or on arms dealing? Is he, after all, his own man?

But when Qazai's grandson is kidnapped a hideous new chain of events unfurls, forcing Webster into a frantic race across the Mediterranean to undo the damage done by his questioning. As he closes in on the truth of Qazai's fortune - and those who wish to destroy it - Webster discovers he may pay for that knowledge with the lives of his own family.

A high-octane mix of ancient fears, forgotten crimes, and monumental greed, The Jackal's Share reveals the untold world of criminal corporate finance in a Middle East as raw and as strange as ever depicted.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. A more-than-worthy sequel with deft, complex and believable plotting, tense, gut-wrenching action, and classy literary writing." - Kirkus

"Starred Review. The novel's power derives mainly from its nuanced look at Webster's struggle to balance his principles and his responsibilities to his family." - Publishers Weekly

"Chris Morgan Jones has more than equalled his powerful debut and in Ben Webster has created a flawed (of course), likable central character." - The Guardian

The information about The Jackal's Share shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Christopher Morgan Jones Author Biography

For eleven years Christopher Morgan Jones worked at the world's largest business intelligence agency. He has advised Middle Eastern governments, Russian oligarchs, New York banks, London hedge funds, and African mining companies.

Link to Christopher Morgan Jones's Website

Other books by Christopher Morgan Jones at BookBrowse
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.