Until the Next Time: Book summary and reviews of Until the Next Time by Kevin Fox

Until the Next Time

A Novel

by Kevin Fox

Until the Next Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2012
    400 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

For Sean Corrigan the past is simply what happened yesterday, until his twenty-first birthday, when he is given a journal left him by his father's brother Michael - a man he had not known existed. The journal, kept after his uncle fled from New York City to Ireland to escape prosecution for a murder he did not commit, draws Sean into a hunt for the truth about Michael's fate.

Sean too leaves New York for Ireland, where he is caught up in the lives of people who not only know all about Michael Corrigan but have a score to settle. As his connection to his uncle grows stronger, he realizes that within the tattered journal he carries lies the story of his own life - his past as well as his future - and the key to finding the one woman he is fated to love forever.

With the appeal of The Time Traveler's Wife and the classic Time and Again, this novel is a romance cloaked in mystery and suspense that takes readers inside the rich heritage of Irish history and faith. Until the Next Time is a remarkable story about time and memory and the way ancient myths affect everything - from what we believe to who we love.

Paperback original

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Although at times the book has the feel of an episode of Lost, it is both entertaining and provocative." - Publishers Weekly

"Heavy with history, Celtic mysticism, violence, and a somewhat pedantic plot, this debut novel by the producer and writer for the TV series Lie to Me is nonetheless a satisfying read about a culture that still believes strongly in the cycles of lives and loves and the inevitable repetition of political and religious intolerance. Recommended for Irish fiction fans." - Library Journal

"Until the Next Time is a taut suspense novel, a history lesson on a people's enduring struggle, and a chronicle of a star-crossed pair's everlasting love. Fox has combined these elements, along with a dash of the mystical, to create a rare and wonderful story, that continues far beyond the last page." - Sandra Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Unspeakable, Fat Tuesday, and Exclusive

The information about Until the Next Time shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Sandy K. (Iowa City, IA)

Until the Next Time
I enjoyed this novel very much, partly because of my Irish heritage and interest in Irish history, but readers of different backgrounds will also be held by its universal questions and themes. At first, I had some difficulty keeping track of characters and events because each chapter is narrated by a different but related character with 20 years between events. I was able to improve my understanding by careful attention to details and parallels between the narrators, and by realizing that the theme of reincarnation, essential to the novel, was enhanced by this construction.

The author's use of a vernacular version of English for the dialog of the native Irish characters aids in the reader's sense of experiencing the story personally, as do his marvelously detailed descriptions of places and people, and of events associated with phases of the Irish Troubles into which he blends his fictional characters.

Mark O. (Wenatchee, WA)

Time out of Memory
Transporting books are safe passages to hard places. “Until the Next Time” takes us deep into the Troubles of Northern Ireland, where history is a congenital disorder, something to be lived with and overcome. But where there is hate, there seems always to be love. “Until the Next Time” is also an old story, of perennial love.

Profound books allow readers to climb into a Paradigm Simulator, flying themselves through wholly unfamiliar worldviews. “Until the Next Time” will leave you contesting the implications and conundrums of a universe in which time is more important than space.

“Until the Next Time” could be an airplane book, a gritty love story set in shifty and slithery danger, good enough to keep you awake on the red-eye flight. But it could also make what were harmless déjà vu moments in your life seem like brooding messages from an unremembered smartphone app.

Colleen T. (Lakewood, CO)

Until the Next Time
This book I really, really liked. The romance story is great, especially with the past lives woven into the storyline. The characters are likable and believable. I found the switch between the past and present refreshing, and with the historic aspect of the troubles in Ireland, it make the story even more interesting. I highly recommend this book.

Lesley F. (San Diego, CA)

Irish Storytelling
Reading Until the Next Time by Kevin Fox is much like watching a Martin McDonagh play: you laugh so hard, tears well in your eyes - and there is such violence, you cringe. I laughed at all the Irish phrases I've grown up with, but even more so, the family arguments that all sounded so familiar - four generations away from the auld sod and I am still accused of answering every question with question :).
Here is a love story caught up in the Troubles - and before and beyond them. Here is discussion of religion and its effects on humans that should cause excitement like the religious discussions in Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code - not that they are at all similar but that they make you pause and re-think! I could NOT put this book down.
One caveat: Irish Gaelic phrases are not pronounced in English at all the way they are spelled. Where foreign phrases are used liberally, foreign phrases need to be spelled out phonetically in parentheses right there in the text (as opposed to a glossary). I do not understand why NO authors DO this for their readers. "Hearing" it the way it should sound would be a great enhancement to this story, most particularly. Slainte!

Diane W. (Lake Villa, IL)

Until the Next Time
I did enjoy this book once I was able to manage the switching of time periods/years and the characters relevant to each of the stories---and this became more clear as I read along. I really enjoy learning about the Irish culture and history and did gain a good deal from the book's details and narrative of these aspects. All in all, a good read that I would recommend. An intriguing story....

Chris (Temple City, CA)

Until the Next Time
Overall, I enjoyed this book. The chapters alternate between characters in 1972 and 1996, and this can be confusing at times. The characters are likable though numerous. The historical context with the political and religious struggles was made more personal seeing it through the eyes of the various characters. The foreshadowing was a bit much at times, and it was a stretch that the uncle would write such detail and descriptions in his journal. I enjoyed the romance and reincarnation themes.

...35 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Kevin Fox is a producer and writer for the Fox TS series Lie to Me, and his professional screen-writer credits include the film The Negotiator. He splits his time between coasts, living in both Los Angeles and New Jersey. This is his first novel. Visit him online at www.kevinfoxthewriter.com.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.