Egypt: Book summary and reviews of Egypt by Nick Drake

Egypt

The Book of Chaos

by Nick Drake

Egypt by Nick Drake X
Egypt by Nick Drake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Dec 2011
    352 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

The future of Egypt lies in the hands of the Medjay's chief detective Rahotep in the final, gripping installment of Nick Drake's acclaimed Ancient Egyptian trilogy. Following Nefertiti and Tutankhamun, Egypt: The Book of Chaos puts Rahotep on a high-stakes adventure across enemy empires and rogue states on a top-secret mission to secure the fate of the dynasty. Readers of Stacy Schiff's Cleopatra and anyone fascinated by ancient cultures and unspoken secrets will be instantly drawn in by Drake's magisterial recreation of one of history's great unsolved mysteries. Incorporating his own research through the sites, monuments, ruins, and museums of Egypt, Drake brings vividly back to life an era long ago swallowed by the shifting sands of time in this powerful novel of loyalty, ambition, struggle, and destiny.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. British author Drake's dramatic finish to his trilogy set in ancient Egypt is every bit the equal of its standout predecessors, Nefertiti and Tutankhamun... Everything works, from the dogged but flawed hero to the seamless melding of the murder inquiry with the larger political intrigue." - Publishers Weekly

"If you can get your tongue round the names (or even if you can't) it's a real page turner... Nick Drake has an excellent knowledge of Ancient Egyptian history..." - Shots Crime and Thriller Ezine (UK)

"For fans of historicals." - Library Journal

"In Drake's hands, ancient Egypt comes to life with all its treachery, vengeance, passion and power. A stunning achievement." - M.C. Scott, author of Rome: The Coming of the King

"Drake takes an ancient, long-lost civilization and makes it feel frighteningly familiar. I was captivated from first page to last." - Giles Kristian, author of the Raven series

"Richly imagined, fiendishly plotted, gruesomely evocative, this is the storytelling equivalent of 'shedeh' - the most prized of ancient Egyptian beverages." - Paul Sussman, author of The Hidden Oasis

The information about Egypt shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Nick Drake

Nick Drake's Nefertiti, the first book in the Rahotep detective trilogy, was short-listed by the Crime Writers Association for Best Historical Crime novel. He is also an award-winning poet and screenwriter, and a literary associate at the National Theatre in London.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more historical fiction...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.