Egypt: Book summary and reviews of Egypt by Nick Drake

Egypt

The Book of Chaos

by Nick Drake

Egypt by Nick Drake X
Egypt by Nick Drake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Dec 2011
    352 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

The future of Egypt lies in the hands of the Medjay's chief detective Rahotep in the final, gripping installment of Nick Drake's acclaimed Ancient Egyptian trilogy. Following Nefertiti and Tutankhamun, Egypt: The Book of Chaos puts Rahotep on a high-stakes adventure across enemy empires and rogue states on a top-secret mission to secure the fate of the dynasty. Readers of Stacy Schiff's Cleopatra and anyone fascinated by ancient cultures and unspoken secrets will be instantly drawn in by Drake's magisterial recreation of one of history's great unsolved mysteries. Incorporating his own research through the sites, monuments, ruins, and museums of Egypt, Drake brings vividly back to life an era long ago swallowed by the shifting sands of time in this powerful novel of loyalty, ambition, struggle, and destiny.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. British author Drake's dramatic finish to his trilogy set in ancient Egypt is every bit the equal of its standout predecessors, Nefertiti and Tutankhamun... Everything works, from the dogged but flawed hero to the seamless melding of the murder inquiry with the larger political intrigue." - Publishers Weekly

"If you can get your tongue round the names (or even if you can't) it's a real page turner... Nick Drake has an excellent knowledge of Ancient Egyptian history..." - Shots Crime and Thriller Ezine (UK)

"For fans of historicals." - Library Journal

"In Drake's hands, ancient Egypt comes to life with all its treachery, vengeance, passion and power. A stunning achievement." - M.C. Scott, author of Rome: The Coming of the King

"Drake takes an ancient, long-lost civilization and makes it feel frighteningly familiar. I was captivated from first page to last." - Giles Kristian, author of the Raven series

"Richly imagined, fiendishly plotted, gruesomely evocative, this is the storytelling equivalent of 'shedeh' - the most prized of ancient Egyptian beverages." - Paul Sussman, author of The Hidden Oasis

The information about Egypt shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Nick Drake

Nick Drake's Nefertiti, the first book in the Rahotep detective trilogy, was short-listed by the Crime Writers Association for Best Historical Crime novel. He is also an award-winning poet and screenwriter, and a literary associate at the National Theatre in London.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more historical fiction...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.