The Tender Mercy of Roses Summary and Reviews

The Tender Mercy of Roses

A Novel

by Anna Michaels

The Tender Mercy of Roses
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2011
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

While the body of rodeo star Pony Jones lies motionless in the northern Alabama woods, her spirit is on a mission to find her killer. Invisible to the eye but not to the sixth sense, the only thing Pony can do is guide the living to the truth. 

Her grief-stricken father, Titus, wants nothing more than retribution for his daughter's death, so when former police detective Jo Beth Dawson comes to town, something compels him to seek out her help. 

But when Jo Beth and Titus team up to track down Pony's murderer, it turns loose a whirlwind of intense emotion and unexpected encounters. As they uncover more and more clues leading them to the killer, dark family secrets are revealed and the two must search their souls for redemption.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Michaels is obviously shooting for The Lovely Bones; while her attempt has potential, it's difficult to find the story lurking among all the problems." - Publishers Weekly

"[T]his promising first novel, with its lovely, flowing prose, uses a crime-fiction plot to frame a nuanced character study." - BookList

"The Tender Mercy of Roses is an unforgettable story told with astonishing skill and clarity by a truly gifted writer." - Pat Conroy, author of The Prince of Tides

"The Tender Mercy of Roses is an enchanting blend of the supernatural, mystery, and southern charm. Anna Michael's debut novel has magical moments of insight that took my breath away!" - Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author

"Like the most healing of our dreams, Anna Michaels slowly unfolds a heart-mending story. The Tender Mercy of Roses moves in and out of the unseen places of the soul, exposing a magical story. Surprising wisdom startles the reader in the midst of a narrative both lyrical and powerful." - Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author

"I devoured this thrilling page-turner, absolutely hooked until the final scene, then went back to read again passages so lovely I wanted to savor them more fully. Now I'm spreading the word - this one is a treasure!" - Cassandra King, author of The Same Sweet Girls

The information about The Tender Mercy of Roses shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Darcy C. (San Diego, CA)

The Tender Mercy of Roses
This book had such a lovely way in which it described all of the occurrences of “magic” in the world. The way that certain moments were described and how those moments felt mysterious and held extra meaning was just one of the elements of this story that grabbed me! I really got into the story and was rooting for both Pony (even though she had already died) --- the way her spirit kept fighting was like an supernatural sleuth and Jo Beth -- the tough dame who is bent on finding out who killed Pony. I know that sounds corny, but there wasn't anything corny about this book. If I had to describe the book in one word it would be: haunting. Not like a spooky book, but a book that you find yourself thinking about even weeks after you have read it. It was that good! The author has a lovely voice in this book. I found myself hoping that I might be able to use the same eloquence in my life as the author did in this novel. The descriptive language was a joy to read and just roll around the words in your mind. This was such a lovely book.

Colleen L. (Casco, ME)

Tender Mercy Of Roses
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It had a bit of everything in it - redemption, magic, suspense and mystery. What I enjoyed most was the quality of the author's writing. When I start to read a book, I like to have the first chapter grab me. Then I like to have the story pull me in and keep me going so that I forget how many hours I have spent reading. This author did that for me. The story flowed smoothly and effectively. I loved the author's development of her characters as well as her story line.

This was a very quick read and I was sad when the book ended. I loved the Cherokee roses that the author introduced into the novel. I thought that the addition of this made the novel very special. I sincerely hope that Anna Michaels writes more books as I will be waiting in line to purchase & read them.

Gail G. (Northbrook, Illinois)

fantastic read
The characters in he book are fantastic. It was difficult for me to accept their super human qualities but as I got into the story they became real and it didn't matter how unusual their qualities were. They became believable with all their problems. All the characters in the story needed the tender mercy of the roses--I believe it means that the Spirit World would look after them and help with their problems.The character who needed the most help was Jo Beth Dawson caught in a web of alcoholism and psychological pain a prison from which she could not escape without this help. I was mostly interested in the development of the characters than the answer to the question " who done it! I really hated for the book to end. Obviously I loved this book and would rate it a 10 if possible. Hopefully the author, Anna Michaels, will have more stories to tell, and I thank her for such an enjoyable read.

Carole P. (Framingham, MA)

The Tender Mercy of Roses
This spellbinding book has it all. Mystery, mysticism, family secrets, and above all else love. Beautifully written, it draws you in from the start.

Although totally different from these two books, it reminded me of how I felt reading "The Help" and "Room". A chill up my back, the need to keep reading and sadness when the book ended.

Wendy F. (Kalamazoo, MI)

Tender Mercy of Roses
The Tender Mercy of Roses is a look into family secrets kept and how they can affect those generations to come. The prose in this book is at times insightful, lyrical and homespun. Pony Jones’ ghost meanders through the story to uncover secrets of the rodeo as well as those of her family. The intertwining of souls lost and found introduce us to Pony, Jo Beth, and Titus and how their lives are interconnected. I really enjoyed this one!

Elinor S. (Naples, FL)

Tender Mercy of Roses
I loved this book. The writing was poetic and spiritual. The theme of turning desperation into hope was uplifting. I'm going to plant some Cherokee roses in my garden and think of the wonderful characters in this book when I look at them. Kudos to Anna Michaels.

...16 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Anna Michaels lives in the deep South, where her own rose garden served as the inspiration for The Tender Mercy of Roses, her debut novel. She describes her writing process as "recording the melody and the magic of story." Visit her at www.annamichaels.net

Q&A

Excerpt

Reading Guide

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.