The Summer Without Men: Book summary and reviews of The Summer Without Men by Siri Hustvedt

The Summer Without Men

A Novel

by Siri Hustvedt

The Summer Without Men
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2011
    192 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

"And who among us would deny Jane Austen her happy endings or insist that Cary Grant and Irene Dunne should get back together at the end of The Awful Truth? There are tragedies and there are comedies, aren't there? And they are often more the same than different, rather like men and women, if you ask me. A comedy depends on stopping the story at exactly the right moment."

Mia Fredrickson, the wry, vituperative, tragic comic, poet narrator of The Summer Without Men, has been forced to reexamine her own life. One day, out of the blue, after thirty years of marriage, Mia's husband, a renowned neuroscientist, asks her for a "pause." This abrupt request sends her reeling and lands her in a psychiatric ward. The June following Mia's release from the hospital, she returns to the prairie town of her childhood, where her mother lives in an old people's home. Alone in a rented house, she rages and fumes and bemoans her sorry fate. Slowly, however, she is drawn into the lives of those around her - her mother and her close friends, "the Five Swans," and her young neighbor with two small children and a loud angry husband - and the adolescent girls in her poetry workshop whose scheming and petty cruelty carry a threat all their own.

From the internationally bestselling author of What I Loved comes a provocative, witty, and revelatory novel about women and girls, love and marriage, and the age-old question of sameness and difference between the sexes.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Instead of being another novel of a woman on the brink, this becomes an adroit take on love, men and women, and girls and women." - Publishers Weekly

"Lighthearted but not lightweight - a smart, sassy reflection on the varieties of female experience." - Kirkus Reviews

"Starred Review. What joy to see Hustvedt... have such mordant fun in this saucy and scathing novel about men and women, selfishness and generosity. In Mia, Hustvedt has created a companionable and mischievous narrator to cherish, a healthy-minded woman of high intellect, blazing humor, and boundless compassion." - Donna Seaman, Booklist

"[A] book that shines with intellectual curiosity and emotional integrity." - The Guardian (UK)

The information about The Summer Without Men shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Shawna L. (Idaho Falls, Idaho)

The Summer Without Men by Siri Hustvedt
Mia Fredrickson describes herself as a “madwoman” after her husband Boris requests a “pause” in their relationship. The "pause" is a much younger French woman. She is intelligent and attractive with “significant breasts that were real”. Alone for the first time in years Mia feels like her life is has been missing something. Soon she will find out just what that something is.

All alone and without her husband Mia becomes drawn into the lives of those around her. Her mother, with her group of Motherly female friends, provides a constant source of support for Mia, but also gives her a poignant look into the future. Her daughter Daisy is full of the youthful exuberance Mia has lost somewhere down the line during the last 55 years.

The family next door suffice as Mia's daily soap opera with their slamming doors and loud hideous swearing. After another stormy night the abusive husband leaves and Mia offers her neighbor Lola comfort and solace in her home.

As Mia begins to deal with her own loss and finding that something she is missing. A class of seven teenage girls await her. They are full of all the viciousness and ugliness that is so prevalent in pubescent girls. Mia's poetry workshop turns out to be the perfect environment for the emergence of ghoulish behavior she has been missing and needing in her life.

This is a sophisticated and complex novel. There are phrases that have to be read again just for their sheer depth and beauty.

The Summer Without Men is a story for women about women or men who don't understand women. Mia and Lola both suffer mistreatment at the hands of the men in theirs lives. However the men are insignificant in this novel. Ultimately it is about the strength of women and their ability to draw strength from each other. They are able piece together the missing parts of their lives they didn't know they had lost.

Cheryl P. (Kansas City, MO)

Poetry within Prose
Beautifully written... loved the smattering of poetry throughout the book.
I wondered if "Mr. Nobody" is a nod to the work of Emily Dickinson?
This would be a fabulous book club read for women of all ages. This novel literally contains a "cradle to grave" spectrum of characters.
They are grappling with issues which are inherent to the female human condition - and the author manages to convey both the humor and the sadness of their story with great eloquence.

Shelley C. (Eastport, NY)

The Summer Without Men
I really liked this book a lot. The writing was excellent and the story extremely compelling. As a former teacher, I especially appreciated the way the children who were bullies were dealt with.

Lynda L. (Sahuarita, Arizona)

The Summer Without Men
Only a mere 182 pages, this novel is a delightful dynamo dealing with numerous issues that affect girls and women from childhood to the elderly. Do not let the title of the book fool you. Men, although not always present physically, are present in relationships with their women. The poetry, cartoon characters and the anonymous tormentor called Mr./Mrs. Nobody provided relief from serious situations. This novel was not only a wonderful read, it gave a whole new insight to the word "pause".

Darra W. (Walnut Creek, CA)

Don't be mislead by the title...
Although it begins with what would appear to be the familiar "husband leaves wife for younger woman and look what happens next" scenario, this is no fluffy, escapist, chick-lit stuff. Instead (yes!!) it is an intelligent, well-written, thought-provoking--and often close-to-the-bone--examination of women at various stages in their lives. I'll forgive the one-subplot-too-many (the young neighbor) for the gift Hustvedt gives us in Mia's mother and the other Four Swans.

I can't remember the last time I read a book with so many out-loud "oh!" moments. Book clubs will find tons to discuss.

Irene B. (Denton, TX)

The summer without men
A great book. This writer has an understanding of the female mind and how we react to not so pleasant situations - most of the time. I think that she did a great job of depicting the feelings of different age groups. I will read this book again.

...14 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Siri Hustvedt Author Biography

Siri Hustvedt is the author of the novels, The Blindfold, The Enchantment of Lily Dahl, What I Loved, The Summer Without Men and The Blazing World; as well as three collections of essays, A Plea for Eros, Mysteries of the Rectangle: Essays on Painting, and Living, Thinking, Looking; as well as the nonfiction work: The Shaking Woman or A History of My Nerves. What I Loved and The Summer Without Men were international bestsellers. Her work has been shortlisted for numerous awards, including the Femina Etranger in France, and she is the recipient of the 2012 International Gabarron Prize for Thought and Humanities. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, Paul Auster.

Author Interview
Link to Siri Hustvedt's Website

Name Pronunciation
Siri Hustvedt: se-ree hoost-ved

Other books by Siri Hustvedt at BookBrowse
  • The Blazing World jacket

5 more...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.