The Officers' Club: Book summary and reviews of The Officers' Club by Ralph Peters

The Officers' Club

by Ralph Peters

The Officers' Club by Ralph Peters X
The Officers' Club by Ralph Peters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published Jan 2011
    304 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Spring, 1981. Vietnam is over, but the repercussions linger.  The military strives to recover as society reels from the excesses of the 1970s…

A sinister beauty and a dutiful soldier… a Hollywood lawyer running from a dirty past and a cast-off vet who seems to have no future…  dueling drug gangs along the Mexican border… and the mutilated remains of a female lieutenant. 

Stunning, promiscuous, and brilliant at spotting the weaknesses in others, Jessie Lamoureaux may have been killed by a jealous lover, a drug smuggler - or a ghost from a life she hoped she had left behind. 

Was her murderer the Green Beret she betrayed?  The captain whose marriage she shattered?  The senior officer hoping to save her from herself?  A female sergeant fighting for dignity in a man’s world?  Or a fellow lieutenant with a secret of his own?

In this gritty tale of young men and women torn between the laws of the land and the laws of the heart, a dark journey leads from a moonlit beach in Mexico to mayhem in Iran - then back to a country looking for its soul. The Officers’ Club captures the passions and confusion of the times, the reckoning due after a decade of indulgence - and the commitment of those who stayed in uniform through the bad years.

As the military and society struggle to right themselves, their conflicts are embodied in the question:

Who killed Lieutenant Jessie Lamoureux? 

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. The murder of 1st Lt. Jessica Lamoureux at Arizona's Fort Huachuca kick-starts Peters's excellent mystery thriller set in the post-Vietnam era." - Publishers Weekly

"Starred Review. It's likely that Peters, who writes nonfiction on military affairs as well as novels, is writing about a place and time he really knows, and the result is a hugely entertaining tale." - Booklist

"Starred Review. [An] absorbing and finely crafted portrayal of complex characters whose intertwining relationships come apart under the strain of differing expectations. In the tradition of James Jones, Norman Mailer, and Nelson DeMille." - Library Journal

"Part murder mystery, part character study, totally entertaining. Peters has created a character worthy of a sequel." - Kirkus

"The Officers’ Club is a perfect invocation of America and the post-Vietnam Army trying to repair its heart and soul in the aftermath of a long, disastrous war. For those of us who were there, as well as for those who were not, this is a must read; a remembrance of things we'd rather forget, and a reminder that history is prologue to the future. Peters writes with wit and style, his dialogue is as crisp and fresh as a newly-pressed uniform. An outstanding novel of mystery, seduction, sex, betrayal, and murder." - Nelson DeMille, New York Times bestselling author of The Lion

"Ralph Peters knows the people and culture of the modern military as well as any living writer; truthfully, no one writes them better. Peters is the gold standard which the rest of us are measured against." - Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author of The Assassin

"With The Officers' Club, Ralph Peters elegantly proves that America's military forces are staffed with flesh and blood human beings, people for all their trials and tribulations who are dedicated not only to their country, but to each other. Brothers and sisters, in arms, all facing the same enemy which is sometimes themselves. Peters has written a real story about real people, and he's nailed it solid. I couldn't put it down. Hats off!" - David Hagberg, New York Times bestselling author of The Expediter

This information about The Officers' Club was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. Publication information is for the USA, and (unless stated otherwise) represents the first print edition. The reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that they do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, send us a message with the mainstream reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Ralph Peters

Ralph Peters is a retired Army officer and former enlisted man; a best-selling, prize-winning novelist; a controversial strategist and veteran of the intelligence world; a journalist who has covered multiple conflicts; and a lifelong traveler with experience in over seventy countries on six continents. He is the author of 24 previous books, fiction, and non-fiction.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more mysteries...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: If I Survive You
    If I Survive You
    by Jonathan Escoffery
    In If I Survive You, author Jonathan Escoffery portrays a family falling apart with grace. Main ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...
  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...
  • Book Jacket: The Story of Russia
    The Story of Russia
    by Orlando Figes
    In The Story of Russia, British historian and writer Orlando Figes shares panoramic and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.