Fly Away Home: Book summary and reviews of Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner

Fly Away Home

A Novel

by Jennifer Weiner

Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner X
Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jul 2010
    368 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author, a novel about a family of women who seek refuge in an old beach house.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"This best-selling author proves again that she writes the best page-turners around." - Elle

"Fly Away Home...is the book to pack this summer. The latest from Jennifer Weiner has it all." - St. Petersburg Times

"The season's hottest chick lit...We're fascinated by the stories of betrayed political wives, and now the best-selling author of Good in Bed cozies up to the subject in her new novel." - USA Today

"The...quintessential beach read!" - Columbus Dispatch

"Sharp, hysterical, thoughtful. . .Jennifer Weiner's latest treat hits the spot" - The Providence Journal

"Fresh, nuanced... Weiner wryly and sensitively shows the trade-offs we all make to maintain our relationships." - Parade

"Weiner’s trademark blend of wit and sensitivity...distinguishes this timely tale about a family in crisis." - Booklist

"Smart and juicy" - Good Housekeeping

"Witty and smart" - O Magazine

The information about Fly Away Home shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Jennifer Weiner Author Biography

Jennifer Weiner was born in 1970 on an army base in Louisiana. She grew up in Connecticut, and graduated from Princeton University with a degree in English literature. She worked as a newspaper reporter in Central Pennsylvania, Lexington, Kentucky, and Philadelphia, before the publication of her first novel, Good In Bed, in 2001.

Her novels In Her Shoes (2002), which was turned into a major motion picture; Little Earthquakes (2004), Goodnight Nobody (2005), the short story collection The Guy Not Taken (2006), Certain Girls (2008), Best Friends Forever (2009), Fly Away Home (2010), and Then Came You (2011). Her work has appeared in Seventeen, Salon, Redbook, Glamour, Good Housekeeping, and Elle.

She lives in Philadelphia with her family.

... Full Biography
Author Interview
Link to Jennifer Weiner's Website

Other books by Jennifer Weiner at BookBrowse
  • Mrs. Everything jacket
  • In Her Shoes jacket

8 more...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.