The Spot: Book summary and reviews of The Spot by David Means

The Spot

Stories

by David Means

The Spot by David Means X
The Spot by David Means
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published May 2010
    176 pages
    Genre: Short Stories

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

The Spot is an old blacksmith shed in which a gang of men tweeze apart the intricacies of a botched bank robbery.

The Spot is a place deep in Riverside Park, along the Hudson River, where two lovers walk with a keen sense that their adultery is about to come to an end.

The Spot is at the bottom of Niagara Falls, where the body of a young girl floats as if caught in the tangled currents of her own tragic story.

The Spot lies in the eardrum of a madman plagued by a noisy upstairs neighbor on the Upper East Side of Manhattan.

The Spot is a place in a young father’s mind where love, fear, and responsibility merge in the struggle with his son’s potentially devastating diagnosis.

The Spot is in a dusty encampment in Nebraska where a gang of inept radicals plot a revolution.

The Spot is a Depression-era rail junction in Michigan where a young hobo spins the story of his return to a place that reminds him of home.

The Spot is in Oklahoma City, where two homeless girls move amid a memorial of outdoor stone chairs, sitting down and standing up, leaving impressions in the snow on the dark stone seats.

The Spot is the new book by the award-winning, internationally acclaimed author of Assorted Fire Events, winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and The Secret Goldfish.

The Spot is a collection of stories by an author who, according to The New York Times, "stands among our most gifted younger writers," a writer whose language, in the words of James Wood, "offers an exquisitely precise and sensuous register of an often crazy American reality."

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. There's not an off note to be found in Means's prose, and he proves to be remarkably adept at locating the sublime in the unseemly." - Publishers Weekly

"Starred Review. A virtuosic short-story collection." - Kirkus Reviews

"Starred Review. [An] essential purchase for all academic and public libraries and a perfect choice for summer reading to help provide a bit of a chill." - Library Journal

This information about The Spot was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. Publication information is for the USA, and (unless stated otherwise) represents the first print edition. The reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that they do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, send us a message with the mainstream reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

David Means Author Biography

Phtot: Beowulf Sheehan

David Means is the author of several story collections, including Assorted Fire Events, The Spot, The Secret Goldfish, and Instructions for a Funeral. His novel, Hystopia, was nominated for the Man Booker Prize.

Other books by David Means at BookBrowse
  • Instructions for a Funeral jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more short stories...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...
  • Book Jacket: Hello Beautiful
    Hello Beautiful
    by Ann Napolitano
    Ann Napolitano's much-anticipated Hello Beautiful pulls the reader into a warm, loving familial ...
  • Book Jacket: The West
    The West
    by Naoíse Mac Sweeney
    It's become common for history books and courses to reconsider the emphasis on "Western Civilization...
  • Book Jacket
    A Death in Denmark
    by Amulya Malladi
    Can a mystery novel be informative, intriguing and deeply comforting all at once? Amulya Malladi ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

  • Book Jacket

    Hotel Cuba
    by Aaron Hamburger

    A stunning novel about two Russian Jewish sisters, desperate to get to the U.S. but trapped in the hedonistic world of 1920s Havana.

Win This Book
Win Such Kindness

30 Copies to Give Away!

Few writers paint three-dimensional characters with such verve and humanism.
Booklist (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.