Kissing Games of the World Summary and Reviews

Kissing Games of the World

by Sandi Kahn Shelton

Kissing Games of the World
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Nov 2008
    400 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

What if the one person you can’t bear to be with is also the one person you can’t bear to be without?

Jamie McClintock is a free-spirited artist and single mother who has at last found peace and freedom sharing a farmhouse with an elderly man and his young grandson. But when the old man dies, her idyllic country life comes to a halt, as the old man’s estranged son, Nate, returns to claim the house and his child.

Jamie can’t stand Nate’s slick, arrogant, salesman-like approach to parenthood, and Nate is irritated by her laid-back, earth mother view of life, not to mention her fondness for artsy knitted vests. This is definitely not love at first sight. But as they try to work out the logistics of raising their two little boys—reluctantly enduring everything from games of hide-and-seek with Daddy’s BlackBerry to breakfasts of headless teddy bear pancakes - their lives become hopelessly intertwined. It’s not until they’ve gone their separate ways that they both realize that sometimes love sneaks through the door you were sure you’d slammed long ago, and that rescue from the past can come from the unlikeliest places.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"An absolute treat, Shelton's work rarely falters and is filled with realistic twists, complex characters and a moving conclusion." - Publishers Weekly.

"Starred Review. Shelton's third novel is an engrossing, charming, and often funny exploration of love and the relationships that result." - Library Journal.

"Sexy hero, lovable heroine, adorable kids – Kissing Games of the World has it all. A complete delight. Fall into this buoyant, funny, genuinely touching story of two incomplete people finding the rest of themselves in each other. I loved it." - Patricia Gaffney.

The information about Kissing Games of the World shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Debb

Kissing Games of the World
This was the first of Sandi Kahn Shelton's books I have read, but it is certainly not the last! Jamie's relationship with her son, Arley and the other characters in this book were heartwarming and so very real. I laughed out loud many times and shed a few tears. Some twists and turns that you won't expect, right up until the end, I was up late more than once with this book in my hand! I loved it! I am going straight to Amazon.com to get more of Sandi Kahn Shelton's books!

Jinny

Kissing Games
I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this book. The characters are well-drawn and stay true to themselves throughout. The story is engaging and it's twists and turns were entertaining, although the ending was somewhat predictable.

Most enjoyable and authentic, I thought, were the portrayals of the young boys and their own delightful dialogues and adventures.

I missed these people when the book was over and wanted to follow them through further adventures.

Marta

The Simple Life
Of course no life is simple but the main character of Jamie, who is the mother to Arley, is one that she craves. She is living in a small town in Connecticut in an old farmhouse. She is housemates with an older man, Harris, who is raising his grandson Christopher. Suddenly Harris dies and life gets very complicated. Nate, Christopher's dad comes back to take control of his son and the life he never wanted, but did he? I really enjoyed this story of love. It raises truths about how people change. The characters were believable and very likable. The two little boys were especially charming and added much to the agonizing of the adults. This was a great end of summer read, though it will not solve the problems of the world, it made me happy and that is something that is very important to all of us.

Kathy

Kissing Games of the World
Some books take a while to reel you in but I was hooked by this one from the very beginning. I loved it and didn't want it to end. The characters showed that even though we're all flawed beings in some way that we can change and learn to trust and love. I'm still working on the casting for the movie!

Patricia

Kissing Games of the World
Kissing Games was a great read!!! The story and the characters were all very compelling!!! I look forward to reading more of Shelton's work.

Julie

Heartwarming Read
What a great story! This novel was so endearing, from beginning to end. All of the characters were believable, the plot was realistic and kept my interest throughout, and the writing was superb. The story flowed smoothly and without any dry spells....quite remarkable!

I was very impressed with this writer's skill and heart, and I can't wait to read more by this gifted author. If you want a book that will touch your soul, this one will fit the bill! Not a syrupy romance, but a wonderful story about how two people discovered what really matters in life, how they came to terms with love and loss, and happened to find each other in the process.

...11 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

The author of two previous books, Sandi Kahn Shelton is a feature writer for the New Haven Register and a frequent contributor to Woman's Day, Family Circle, Redbook, and Ladies' Home Journal. She lives in Guilford, Connecticut. Visit Sandi Shelton's website and blog.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.