My Life Summary and Reviews

My Life

Growing Up Asian in America

by CAPE (Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment)

My Life by CAPE (Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment) X
My Life by CAPE (Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment)
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published May 2022
    256 pages
    Genre: Essays

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A collection of thirty heartfelt, witty, and hopeful thought pieces on the experience of growing up Asian American, for fans of Minor Feelings.

There are 23 million people, representing more than twenty countries, each with unique languages, histories, and cultures, clumped under one banner: Asian American. Though their experiences are individual, certain commonalities appear.

  • The pressure to perform and the weight of the model minority myth.
  • The proximity to whiteness (for many) and the resulting privileges.
  • The desexualizing, exoticizing, and fetishizing of their bodies.
  • The microaggressions.
  • The erasure and overt racism.

Through a series of essays, poems, and comics, thirty creators give voice to moments that defined them and shed light on the immense diversity and complexity of the Asian American identity. Edited by CAPE and with an introduction by renowned journalist SuChin Pak, My Life: Growing Up Asian in America is a celebration of community, a call to action, and a road map for a brighter future.

Featuring contributions from bestselling authors Melissa de la Cruz, Marie Lu, and Tanaïs; journalists Amna Nawaz, Edmund Lee, and Aisha Sultan; TV and film writers Teresa Hsiao, Heather Jeng Bladt, and Nathan Ramos-Park; and industry leaders Ellen K. Pao and Aneesh Raman, among many more.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"A timely collection...A luminous book that highlights the humanity and multitudes of being Asian American." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Taken all together, the individually significant pieces elevate and illuminate the multifaceted, intersectional experiences of Asian Americans across sectors and industries, giving voice to their struggles, achievements, and resilience...[E]normously engaging." - Booklist (starred review)

"In this heartfelt anthology, Asian American writers, executives, and artists reflect on their encounters with the 'model minority myth,' their experiences 'being seen as less than American,' the 'wisdom and shortcomings of elders,' and other aspects of growing up in the U.S...Enriched by the diversity of its contributors and the intimacy of their pieces, this is a vital record of the Asian American experience." - Publishers Weekly

This information about My Life was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. Publication information is for the USA, and (unless stated otherwise) represents the first print edition. The reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that they do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, send us a message with the mainstream reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

CAPE (Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment)

CAPE (Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment) has advanced Asian and Pacific Islander (API) representation on screen since 1991. Through industry-renowned talent development programs including the CAPE New Writers Fellowship and CAPE Leaders Fellowship, script consulting, and CAPE Database talent referrals, and the grassroots audience movement #GoldOpen, CAPE improves the landscape, relevance, and power of APIs in entertainment from the writers' room to the boardroom to the living room.

SuChin Pak is a veteran journalist with more than twenty-five years of experience. She is best known for being the first Asian American reporter for MTV News. From hosting red carpet shows to reporting on some of the biggest headlines in news, Pak has been a dedicated journalist since the age of sixteen. She currently cohosts a podcast, Add to Cart, about consumerism. She has focused much of her work on issues involving social change.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more essays...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.