Chlorine Sky: Book summary and reviews of Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne

Chlorine Sky

by Mahogany L. Browne

Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne X
Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jan 2021
    192 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"[Browne's] clear, descriptive word choices conjure vivid images and sharp feelings that pair well with the conversational flow, making the story accessible and appealing to reluctant readers...A coming-of-age novel for Black girls who have been told they're too much and yet never enough." - Kirkus Reviews

"Browne stirs up images that illuminate Skyy's vibrant neighborhood...and engage the senses...Browne's exploration of a teen finding herself moves rapidly, while Skyy's journey toward self-love pulls at the heart." - Publishers Weekly

"Readers will find the changing friendships relatable, though they may want more character development, especially for Skyy...A contemporary look at changing teenage friendships and finding ways to accept yourself." - Library Journal

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA is an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." - Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

"A story about heart and backbone, and one only Mahogany L. Browne could bring forth." - Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

"A profound reminder that sometimes the most revolutionary thing a girl can be is herself." - Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"Browne's poignant writing will undoubtedly bring readers back to her stories again and again." -Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author

This information about Chlorine Sky shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Mahogany L. Browne

Mahogany L. Browne is writer, organizer & educator. Currently the Artistic Director of Urban Word NYC, Browne has received literary fellowships from Air Serenbe, Cave Canem, Poets House & Rauschenberg. She hosts/curates the Nuyorican Poets Cafe Friday Night Slam Series and has authored: Black Girl Magic (Roaring Brook/Macmillan), Kissing Caskets (Yes Yes Books), Dear Twitter (Penmanship Books), Smudge (Button Poetry), and Redbone (Willow Books).

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more YA novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    The Dutch House is my introduction to Ann Patchett, which, after reading it, surprises me. I had ...

  • Book Jacket: Nights When Nothing Happened
    Nights When Nothing Happened
    by Simon Han
    A quiet atmosphere of dread permeates Simon Han's subdued debut novel Nights When Nothing Happened. ...
  • Book Jacket: Take It Back
    Take It Back
    by Kia Abdullah
    In Kia Abdullah's novel Take It Back, sexual violence advisor Zara Kaleel becomes involved in a case...
  • Book Jacket: Dark, Salt, Clear
    Dark, Salt, Clear
    by Lamorna Ash
    Named after Lamorna Cove in her mother's rural home county of Cornwall (located in southwestern ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Prophets
    by Robert Jones Jr.

    A stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Fortunate Ones
    by Ed Tarkington

    An engrossing story of class, love, and loyalty for fans of Kevin Wilson's Nothing to See Here.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Waiting for the Night Song
by Julie Carrick Dalton
A startling and timely debut about friendships forged in childhood and ruptured by the high price of secrets.
Win This Book!
Win The House on Vesper Sands

The House on Vesper Sands by Paraic O'Donnell

Introducing a detective duo for the ages who unlock the secrets of a startling Victorian mystery.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T T T Light F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.