MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins Summary and Reviews

Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins

by Katarina Bivald

Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins by Katarina Bivald X
Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins by Katarina Bivald
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2020
    448 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A charming tale of a ramshackle roadside motel: a heartwarming story of love, friendship, community, and the art of living, even when it's already too late.

The Pine Creek Motel has seen better days. Henny would call it charming, but she's always seen the best in things. Like now, when she's just met an untimely end crossing the road. She's not going to let a tiny thing like death stop her from living fully―not when her friends and family need her the most.

After the funeral is over, her body is buried, and the last casserole dish is empty, Henny is still around. She's not sure why, but she realizes she has one last opportunity to help her friends discover the happiness they once knew before they lose the motel and cabins they've cherished for years.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"In a story about the lives a single person can touch, the highlight is fittingly Bivald's memorable characterizations, as she makes each person and their needs distinct and complex. This is a winning novel about the lasting impact of love." - Publishers Weekly

"A celebration of life in which friendship, community, and a room for the night are gentle antidotes to prejudice." - Kirkus Reviews

"Bivald's charming, heartwarming, and thought-provoking novel will linger long after the last page is turned." - Booklist

"Katarina Bivald talks about her characters like you talk about your best friends. She gives her story absolutely everything she has." - Fredrik Backman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove

"Hopeful, heartening, and humane, this is the novel I needed to read right now." - J. Ryan Stradal, author of The Lager Queen of Minnesota and Kitchens of the Great Midwest

"Remarkable...unquestionably a page-turner and full of wisdom. A brave, unusual book, which powerfully portrays friendship and love." - Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of The Library at the Edge of the World

The information about Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

CarolT

Thought provoking
Thank you to translator Alice Menzies for the excellent translation! I can't even tell that this was translated (not always the case with translations). Bivald is excellent at building a town character by character, just as she did in The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend, then letting those characters pull us into their world. She is just the writer I need in this chaotic world.

Mary L. (Greeley, CO)

Thought provoking and humorous
Tempted to five this a 4 rating because of my slight frustration about the narrator's switching between high school years and the present, ultimately decided that there gems to be discovered as one reads. Henny, the narrator, has died right at the beginning. However she stays around to observe and communicate with her friends and father, encouraging them to overcome the prejudices of the small town prejudices and misguided "Christianity." She also learns that her seemingly insignificant life has profoundly affected other lives.

Laure R. (Fresno, CA)

Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins
Beginning with the immediate demise of the main character, Hennie, this book is loaded with twists and turns. It switches often from present to past, and all are worthwhile to navigate. Hennie's spirit remains tethered to the community to assist with their grief mixed with some alternative lifestyles and tangled lives.
The story is centered in a small, economically depressed, town in Oregon. The Pine Away Motel and Cabins resides at the edge of same. It houses and/or employs Hennie's dearest friends and family. They are surrounded by others in the community with varying degrees of very rigid conservative views of religion, sexuality and politics. Tolerance becomes very limited.
I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. I did not want to put it down and was disappointed to reach the end. This is the first book I've read by Katarina Bivald and it will not be the last. Kudos to her translator, Alice Menzies, for a flawless job also.

Lesley F. (San Diego, CA)

A Motel of Mysteries
"Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins" by Katarina Bivald is wonderful. Special kudos go to Alice Menzies whose work in translating from Swedish needs to be recognized and lauded! Many books have been written lately with the timeline going back and forth, chapter after chapter. But the special twist in THIS one is really fresh. Our hero(ine) dies at the outset but continues to monitor her friends, family, and community "helping" them learn the art of living. Welcome to the Hotel California, indeed! I will be recommending it to my novel-reading book group.

Carole R. (Burlington, WI)

Where do I start?
I hated this book. I loved this book. I thought the first 100 pages would never end. I couldn't quit on this book because I loved the author's first book "The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend." This novel is written as past and present vignettes. As I noted this was very confusing as the novel begins.

However, once I settled into commitment to the story and gave it a large block of time, the story unfolds, starts to make sense, and then I had to take a break because I didn't want it to end. This novel is perfect for book clubs because there are so many ways to approach the themes of the book. Church, politics, sexuality, honesty, friendships all waiting for the reader to put the pieces together in the mosaic of life.

John A. (Austin, TX)

A Magical Story in Oregon
Very entertaining book with great characters. While the book makes one think a bit of Lovely Bones and Fried Green Tomatoes, it is much, much more. It could easily be converted into a great Netflix or Amazon Prime series with such a cast of lovable, interesting figures. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

...14 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Katarina Bivald

Katarina Bivald is the author of the instant New York Times bestseller and #1 Indie Next Pick The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend. She lives outside of Stockholm, Sweden. She grew up working part-time in a bookshop.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Kindness of Strangers
    The Kindness of Strangers
    by Michael E. McCullough
    "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." Everyone, at some point in their life, has ...
  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    With or Without You
    by Caroline Leavitt

    A moving novel about twists of fate, the shifting terrain of love, and coming into your own.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.