MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Homelands: Book summary and reviews of Homelands by Alfredo Corchado

Homelands

Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration

by Alfredo Corchado

Homelands by Alfredo Corchado X
Homelands by Alfredo Corchado
Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

From prizewinning journalist and immigration expert Alfredo Corchado comes the sweeping story of the great Mexican migration from the late 1980s to today.

When Alfredo Corchado moved to Philadelphia in 1987, he felt as if he was the only Mexican in the city. But in a restaurant called Tequilas, he connected with two other Mexican men and one Mexican American, all feeling similarly isolated. Over the next three decades, the four friends continued to meet, coming together over their shared Mexican roots and their love of tequila. One was a radical activist, another a restaurant/tequila entrepreneur, the third a lawyer/politician. Alfredo himself was a young reporter for the Wall Street Journal.

Homelands merges the political and the personal, telling the story of the last great Mexican migration through the eyes of four friends at a time when the Mexican population in the United States swelled from 700,000 people during the 1970s to more than 35 million people today. It is the narrative of the United States in a painful economic and political transition.

As we move into a divisive, nativist new era of immigration politics, Homelands is a must-read to understand the past and future of the immigrant story in the United States, and the role of Mexicans in shaping America's history. A deeply moving book full of colorful characters searching for home, it is essential reading.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"In addition to providing historical context for the current debate on immigration, this book is a timely and personal meditation on the concept of 'migrant' in the United States." - Publishers Weekly

"The latest from the Dallas Morning News' award-winning borderland correspondent is a breezy, expansive narrative that traces the Great Mexican Migration of the second half of the twentieth century." - Booklist

"A mix of memoir and deep research into various Mexican and American political immigration issues, exploring complications of life on both sides of the border ... An affecting, timely book." - Kirkus

"This personal, moving tale illuminates the very heart of the polarizing immigration debate that is roiling America today." - David Axelrod, Director, University of Chicago Institute of Politics, Former Senior Adviser to Barack Obama, author and CNN Senior Political Commentator

"Offering a balance of honest personal anecdotes and clear-eyed assessment, Corchado reveals what immigration is truly about. A book like this doesn't happen often." - Gary Soto, author of The Elements Of San Joaquin

"Alfredo Corchado's soul is fondly and firmly rooted in both the U.S. and his native Mexico. In tracing the life journeys of himself and three friends, he provides a window to the migrating millions helping to transform North America in the 21st Century. Homelands is an evocative and essential tale for our times." - Dudley Althaus, Mexico Correspondant, The Wall Street Journal

"Corchado reports from across borders with the advantage of seeing the world with multiple perspectives. In the end, it's those who have the least who inspire Corchado the most. No matter where we call home, this book is an inspiration." - Sandra Cisneros, author of House on Mango Street

"Homelands rings true to the heart. A must read for anyone who has ever gotten on the trail north or south, east or west, this book can help you get there, help you reinvent yourself, help you ride the fierce convulsing rapids of life so that when you arrive, you arrive at journey's end holding the prize - the dream of you, fully realized and singing loud over the land!" - Jimmy Santiago Baca, author of A Place To Stand

"Homelands is the sort of story we need now - a book that examines big, urgent themes through the particulars of individual lives. By straddling worlds, speaking two languages, moving across the permeable border that separates the U.S. and Mexico, and explaining the U.S. to Mexicans and Mexico to Americans, Alfredo Corchado is an ambassador for what is finest in both countries. I salute him with a raised glass of tequila." - Philip Conors, author of Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout

"America's history and guiding myth is that of the immigrant, reflecting the waves of English, German, Italian, Irish, Chinese, and so many more that have come, settled, and prospered. In this beautifully written book, Corchado narrates the most recent chapter of this ongoing story." - Shannon K. O'Neil, Council on Foreign Relations and author of Two Nations Indivisible: Mexico, The United States, and the Road Ahead

"Alfredo Corchado has written a book that comes along just when we need it most. We are a country that is always defining and redefining itself, a nation that is at constant war with itself regarding its own identity...We pine for America but what are we pining for? If you want to meditate on who we are as a nation and take a look at some hard truths of who we are, then read this book. Then read it again." - Benjamin Alire Saenz, winner of the PEN Faulkner award for Fiction and author of Everything Begins and Ends At The Kentucky Club

"Alfredo Corchado's moving and deeply personal story traces through his own journey and those of three friends, the odyssey of generations of Mexican immigrants. Homelands is a masterful tale - both heartfelt and informative. Pitch perfect." - Jose de Cordoba, Latin America Correspondent, the Wall Street Journal

"Alfredo Corchado is a master storyteller who weaves together a personal narrative about discovery and identity with the larger story of the relationship between Mexico and the United States. Homelands is a must read for anyone who wants to understand why Mexico matters for the future of the United States - and what it means to claim both countries as one's home." - Andrew Selee, President of the Migration Policy Institute and author of Vanishing Frontiers: The Forces Driving Mexico And The United States Together

"Alfredo Corchado is a master storyteller. Homelands is a compelling and heartfelt homage to friendship and to the inextricable bond between Mexico and the United States. Corchado offers us a much needed reminder, in a time of divisive anti-immigrant rhetoric, of the efforts and sacrifices Mexicans have made to help build America and how much richer our nation is because of it." - Melissa del Bosque, author of Bloodlines

The information about Homelands shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Alfredo Corchado

Alfredo Corchado is the México Border correspondent for The Dallas Morning News and author of Midnight in Mexico. He is a Nieman, Lannan, USMEX, Woodrow Wilson, and Rockefeller fellow and the winner of the Maria Moors Cabot and Elijah Parish Lovejoy Awards for Courage in Journalism. Corchado lives in Mexico City but calls the border home.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more history, science & current affairs...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.