The Woman in the Window: Book summary and reviews of The Woman in the Window by A. Finn

The Woman in the Window

A Novel

by A. Finn

The Woman in the Window by A. Finn X
The Woman in the Window by A. Finn
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2018
    448 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening ...

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times ... and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. Finn's debut lives up to the hype. ... A riveting and mature first novel that stands out in a crowded genre." - Library Journal

"[W]hile the language is at times too clever for its own good, readers will eagerly turn the pages to see how it all turns out. This highly anticipated debut has already received endorsements from such notables as Gillian Flynn and Louise Penny." - Publishers Weekly

"Crackling with tension, and the sound of pages turning, as twist after twist sweeps away each hypothesis you come up with about what happened in Anna's past and what fresh hell is unfolding now." - Kirkus Reviews

"Astounding. Thrilling. Lovely and amazing....Finn has created a noir for the new millennium, packed with mesmerizing characters, stunning twists, beautiful writing and a narrator with whom I'd love to split a bottle of pinot. Maybe two bottles—I've got a lot of questions for her." - #1 New York Times bestselling author Gillian Flynn

"The Woman in the Window is one of those rare books that really is unputdownable. The writing is smooth and often remarkable. The way Finn plays off this totally original story against a background of film noir is both delightful and chilling." - Stephen King

"Twisted to the power of max. Hitchcockian suspense with a 21st century twist." - Bestselling author Val McDermid

"The Woman in the Window is a tour de force. A twisting, twisted odyssey inside one woman's mind, her illusions, delusions, reality. It left my own mind reeling and my heart pounding. An absolutely gripping thriller." - #1 New York Times bestselling author Louise Penny

"Compelling, wrenching, and gasp-for-breath exciting?I was blown away." - #1 New York Times bestselling author Joe Hill

"A dark, twisty confection with an irresistible film noir premise. Hitchcock would have snapped up the rights in a heartbeat." - New York Times bestselling author Ruth Ware

"The Woman in the Window is the most riveting thriller I've read since Gone Girl. A. J. Finn is a bold new talent with the touch of a master." - New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen

"Gripping, compelling, and utterly intriguing." - Liz Nugent, author of the 2017 BEA "Buzz Book" Unraveling Oliver

"The Woman in the Window reads like a classic Hitchcock movie in novel form, in fact I was half expecting a cameo. Dripping with suspense. Creaking with menace. Beautifully written. There's a lot of buzz around this book and every single bit of it is totally justified." - Simon Toyne, bestselling author of the Sanctus trilogy

The information about The Woman in the Window shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Mal

Psychologically gripping
Gripping, intriguing only scratch at the surface of Finn's neophyte psychological thriller. Talk about a roller coaster ride - the chapters are written in such a way you are left in great suspense, more than teasing the reader. The unfolding of how Anna is the way she is grabs at your curiosity with an absolute need to know what the heck happened to such a complicated woman, along with what exactly occurred furiously grips your attention without a doubt, the build up nothing less than exciting. The constant second guessing Anna wrestles with, her current state, not to mention her love of old movies creates such a distortion as the reader you begin to question whether you in fact know where the plot is headed, like Anna you begin to second guess your suspicions, backtracking what happened or what you thought happened. Certainly a psychological maze along with fascinating characters and their roles in the narrative.

A read mesmerizing from the start, you'll gobble it up in one fascinating sitting. Anxiously awaiting Finn's next project, my interested piqued from this cleverly crafted debut.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

A. J. Finn has written for numerous publications, including the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and the Times Literary Supplement (UK). A native of New York, Finn lived in England for ten years before returning to New York City.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Grace
    by Paul Lynch
    Harrowing. Gorgeous. Epic. Grace, Paul Lynch's coming of age novel about a young woman, is set ...
  • Book Jacket: The Perfectionists
    The Perfectionists
    by Simon Winchester
    We seek precision in our lives every day. We want to drive from home to work and work to home safely...
  • Book Jacket: Beauty in the Broken Places
    Beauty in the Broken Places
    by Allison Pataki
    Ernest Hemingway wrote that we are "strong at the broken places," and Allison Pataki found that to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes
    by Jamie Ford
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes was read and reviewed by 22 BookBrowse members for First ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Twelve-Mile Straight by Eleanor Henderson

An audacious American epic set in rural Georgia during the years of the Depression and Prohibition.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Tabor
    by Cherise Wolas

    Wolas's gorgeously rendered sophomore novel reckons with the nature of the stories we tell ourselves.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Clock Dance
    by Anne Tyler

    A delightful novel of one woman's transformative journey, from the best-selling and Pulitzer Prize-winning writer.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win A Place for Us

A Place For Us

A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H, W H A Problem

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.