Eden Summer: Book summary and reviews of Eden Summer by Liz Flanagan

Eden Summer

by Liz Flanagan

Eden Summer by Liz Flanagan X
Eden Summer by Liz Flanagan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jun 2017
    288 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A tense and moving journey through friendship, loss, betrayal, and self-discovery, Eden Summer will plunge its way into your heart and stay there forever.

It starts like any other day for Jess. Get up, draw on eyeliner, cover up tattoos, and head to school. But soon it's clear that this is no ordinary day, because Jess's best friend, Eden, isn't at school ... she's gone missing.

Jess knows she must do everything in her power to find Eden. Before the unthinkable happens.

So Jess decides to retrace the life-changing summer she and Eden have just spent together. But looking back means digging up all their buried secrets, and she soon begins to question everything she thought the summer had been about, and everything she thought she knew about her best friend ...

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"High drama and a breathless pace make this a riveting read." - Kirkus

"Part mystery, part romance, Flanagan surpasses the boundaries of these categories with finely crafted psychological portraits, slightly marred by a tonally jarring ending." - Booklist

"Though the novel is suspenseful, the use of Briticisms, the English setting, and other unfamiliar elements might deter American readers, who may feel as though they're driving on the other side of the road." - School Library Journal

"The story is structured over the course of a day, and the time-stamped chapter headings add a sense of urgency while the author carefully fills in the gaps of the narrative. Flanagan is careful not to reveal too much too soon, leaving readers guessing as to what really happened to Eden until the very last page. Ages 12–up." - Publishers Weekly

"A breathless read." - The Guardian (UK) Best New Children's Books

"Readers will...be hooked by this raw and emotional read." - The Sun (UK)

"A truly gripping plot is combined with beautiful, emotionally rich writing." - The Bookseller (UK) One to Watch pick

"A powerful exploration of the extraordinary power of friendship, both truthful and intense. It's that rare and wonderful thing: a thriller of the heart, written from the heart, that hits home straight to the heart." - Melvin Burgess, Carnegie Medal-winning author of Smack

"Dazzing. Utterly gripping. Writing so fresh every chapter leaves you gasping for air and SO tautly plotted it hurts. If you're going to read one book about the true nature of friendship let it be Eden Summer." - Brian Conaghan, Carnegie Medal shortlisted author of When Mr. Dog Bites

The information about Eden Summer shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Liz Flanagan

Liz Flanagan's YA debut is Eden Summer. Until recently, she ran Lumb Bank - the Ted Hughes Arvon Centre - supporting its famous writing courses. She previously worked as a commissioning editor in children's publishing.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the MĂ©tro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.