Hamlet Globe to Globe: Book summary and reviews of Hamlet Globe to Globe by Dominic Dromgoole

Hamlet Globe to Globe

Two Years, 193,000 Miles, 197 Countries, One Play

by Dominic Dromgoole

Hamlet Globe to Globe by Dominic Dromgoole X
Hamlet Globe to Globe by Dominic Dromgoole
Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Two years, 193,000 miles, 190 countries, one play. For the 450th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth the Globe Theatre undertook an unparalleled journey, to take Hamlet to every country on the planet, to share this beloved play with the entire world.

The tour was the brainchild of Dominic Dromgoole, artistic director of the Globe, and in Hamlet Globe to Globe, Dromgoole takes readers along with him. From performing in sweltering deserts, ice-cold cathedrals, and heaving marketplaces, and despite food poisoning in Mexico, the threat of ambush in Somaliland, an Ebola epidemic in West Africa, and political upheaval in Ukraine, the Globe's players pushed on. Dromgoole shows us the world through the prism of Shakespeare - what the Danish prince means to the people of Sudan, the effect of Ophelia on the citizens of Costa Rica, and how a sixteenth-century play can touch the lives of Syrian refugees. And thanks to this incredible undertaking, Dromgoole uses the world to glean new insight into this masterpiece, exploring the play's history, its meaning, and its pleasures.

Hamlet Globe to Globe is a highly enjoyable book about an unprecedented theatrical adventure.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

BookBrowse Review
"It would seem exciting that for Shakespeare's 450th birthday (where DOES the time go?), the Globe Theatre, under the leadership of Dominic Dromgoole, would perform Hamlet for two years in 190 countries, in various venues and in different situations, including amidst an Ebola epidemic. But Dromgoole sits highly, gamely looking down on the proceedings, shaking his head in wonderment; there's no on-the-ground insight from the performers, from those who helped stage these performances, etc. Instead, Dromgoole (who only spends part of the two years on tour with the players) seeks for readers to know this journey only through him, and there are times when we wait, and wait, and wait, for some interesting insight while he goes on about this or that reference tangentially related to the play." - Rory Aronsky

Other Reviews
"Starred Review. [A] thoroughly enjoyable and charming story ... Sly, witty, and delightful - a glorious Shakespearean romp."- Kirkus

"A wide readership, not just Shakespeare buffs and scholars, can enjoy this book." - Publishers Weekly

"The tireless Dromgoole goes on a journey that would kill most of us, and connects our greatest poet to every corner of the human experience. Utterly extraordinary." - Emma Thompson

"This is an amazing story about a bold and eye-popping journey. I loved it. Dominic Dromgoole writes about Shakespeare and touring the globe the way he ran the Globe - with passion, insight, relish and irresistible humour." - Nicholas Hytner, former Artistic Director of London's National Theatre

"Dominic Dromgoole's recounting of the Globe Theatre's exhausting global tour of Hamlet is exhilarating. The playing company's intrepid journey around the world - performing Hamlet's own troubled journey - succeeds in making the familiar unfamiliar and enables in turn a deeply illuminating journey into the play itself." - Professor James Shapiro, author of 1599 and 1606

"This deeply humane, consistently enthralling account of a theatrical odyssey encompasses travelogue and literary criticism, theatre history and introspective narrative, political commentary and philosophical reflection with beguiling readability." - Sir Stanley Wells, editor of The Oxford Shakespeare and author of Shakespeare & Co.

The information about Hamlet Globe to Globe shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Dominic Dromgoole

Dominic Dromgoole was artistic director of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre in London from 2005 to 2016. He is the author of Will & Me: How Shakespeare Took Over My Life and The Full Room: An A-Z of Contemporary Playwriting. He is a regular contributor to the Guardian, New Statesman, and Sunday Times (UK).

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more history, science & current affairs...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.