MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Find Me: Book summary and reviews of Find Me by J.S. Monroe

Find Me

by J.S. Monroe

Find Me by J.S. Monroe X
Find Me by J.S. Monroe
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Mar 2017
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A sighting of a woman who supposedly died years ago sparks a desperate search for the truth in this breakout suspense thriller, perfect for readers of The Good Girl and The Widow.

Sometimes we choose to see only what we want. Sometimes what we see changes the way we look at everything… 

Jarlath "Jar" Costello's girlfriend, Rosa, committed suicide when they were both students at Cambridge, and Jar has thought about her every day since. It's been five years, yet Jar is still obsessed with the idea that Rosa, the one true love of his life, is alive. He's tormented by disturbingly real sightings of her - experiences the psychologist treating him describes as "post-bereavement hallucinations." 

When Rosa's aunt uncovers an encrypted file on her laptop that she believes is Rosa's diary, she gives Jar the hard drive, sending him on a frantic quest to unlock the mysterious document and finally make sense of the suspicious circumstances surrounding Rosa's suicide. But the deeper he digs, the more confused he becomes as he is pressed into a dark underworld where nothing is as it seems and no one can be trusted. When a startling discovery convinces him more than ever that these are not just hallucinations - that Rosa really is alive - Jar is thrust into the heart of a larger intrigue that may finally shed some light on Rosa's death…even as it dangerously threatens his own life.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. Pacing is crisp and the plot is credible, but it's the cast of expertly crafted, psychologically ambiguous characters that rivets." - Publishers Weekly

"Smart, well written, and tangled in unpredictable twists-a top-notch psychological thriller." - Booklist

"Fast-paced, satisfying, and, ultimately, life-affirming." - Kirkus

"Find Me is a marvelously suspenseful book that keeps you turning pages well past midnight. You'll be riveted on what its very sympathetic narrator goes through to find the love of his life. ... You'll keep guessing until the final mind-bending twist." - Alice LaPlante, New York Times bestselling author of Coming of Age at the End of Days and Turn of Mind

"Intricately woven and heart-stoppingly believable, this has bestseller written all over it." - Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

"Find Me is gripping, pointing you toward the worst possibility on every page in this deeply sinister, drip-drip kind of way. And yet there is a lot of true love in there too, creating an endearing balance." - Caroline Kepnes, author of Hidden Bodies and You

"The most ingenious thriller you will read this year. I couldn't put it down." - M.J. Arlidge, Sunday Times bestselling author of Eeny Meeny

"This intricate puzzle of a thriller takes usinto the far reaches of the Dark Web and the depths of the human heart. Simultaneously romantic and horrifying, this is a treat for everyone who loved le Carre's The Constant Gardener." - Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met and Keep You Close

"Beautifully written and expertly plotted, J.S. Monroe's Find Me had me hooked within the first chapter and Would. Not. Let. Me. Go. This is a captivating, utterly chilling read, the kind of thriller that will keep you turning pages long past your bedtime, and leave you wide awake long after you're done. First class." - Owen Laukkanen, author of The Stolen Ones and The Watcher in the Wall

The information about Find Me shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Author Information

J.S. Monroe

J.S. Monroe, the writing name of a well-known British author and journalist, read English at Cambridge University, worked as a freelance journalist in London and was a regular contributor to BBC Radio 4. He was also a foreign correspondent in Delhi for the Daily Telegraph and was on its staff in London as weekend editor. He is the author of five other novels and lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and their three children.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Race Against Time
    Race Against Time
    by Jerry Mitchell
    Jerry Mitchell spent nearly three decades trailing cold cases from the Civil Rights Movement. As a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Resisters
    The Resisters
    by Gish Jen
    Gish Jen's The Resisters depicts a future United States, dubbed AutoAmerica, where climate change ...
  • Book Jacket: The Mercies
    The Mercies
    by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    It's 1617 and a violent storm has claimed the lives of 40 fishermen off the coast of Vardø, a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree
    by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani
    Ya Ta, the main character in Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani's novel, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    I Want You to Know We're Still Here
    by Esther Safran Foer

    "A vivid testimony to the power of memory."
    - Kirkus (starred review)
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Things They Carried
by Tim O'Brien

The classic, ground-breaking meditation on war and the redemptive power of storytelling.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Mostly Dead Things

Mostly Dead Things
by Kristen Arnett

"Hilarious, deeply morbid, and full of heart."
- BuzzFeed

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.