Philip Ardagh Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Philip Ardagh

Philip Ardagh

How to pronounce Philip Ardagh: ar-der

An interview with Philip Ardagh

Philip Ardagh gives advice to budding young writers, discusses where he gets his ideas and why he chose to become a writer.

What gave you the idea for the Eddie Dickens Trilogy?

I simply wanted to set an adventure in the days of Charles Dickens and beyond. The characters developed from there.

Do you know anyone like the Dickenses?

I've said it before and I'll say it again: You should meet my family!

What made you choose to be a writer?

I went to 'proper school' when I was two-and-a-half years old. No play group for me. My big brother was at school so I wanted to go . . . and I always loved writing. My dad used to be given lots of business diaries come Christmas and I'd fill them with squiggles and pretend writing and -- hey presto -- I had a book with a cover and everything. Then I began to get (very) short stories printed in school magazines and I'd sit in my dad's study and do pretend typing on his gun-metal gray portable typewriter until I jammed the keys so badly, one time, that I was banned from that activity! So, from very early on, I discovered that I liked the thinking process, the sharing of the ideas process and the physical act of writing itself; whether with pen or by keyboard.

Where do you get your ideas from?

I wish I had a simple answer, such as 'www.fresh-ideas-for-books.com' or '23 Ainsley Avenue' or 'from an old box I found in the attic,' but it is much more complicated than that. Ideas are often thoughts put down on paper, developed and refined . . . in other words: I don't really know, they just happen and I nurture them along and turn them into something.

What advice would you give to budding young writers?

Keep reading and get writing. Once you've got something down on paper you can always go back to it and make it better. The hardest thing is getting started. If you're stuck for ideas, take an everyday situation and think, 'What if . .?' For example: 'What if I wake up tomorrow and find that. We grown ten feet overnight?' From that simple idea you can start wondering what you'd do about getting clothes to fit; what your parents might think and your friends might say; what the advantages and disadvantages of being so huge might be, and so on and so on.

What is your favorite color?

That often changes. At the moment it's the orangy-yellow of a fried egg . . . tomorrow it might be the particular pink of an iced Bakewell tart, or the red of a tomato, or the deep, dark brown of chocolate . . .

What is your favorite smell?

My favorite smell is that of the paper of a brand new book.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Philip Ardagh at BookBrowse
Terrible Times jacket Dreadful Acts jacket A House Called Awful End jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Philip Ardagh but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Author Image Not Available

    N.E. Bode

    N. E. Bode doesn't really want a biographical note -- afraid that it might turn out like the shameless self-promotional grandstanding of a certain former Writing Teacher. Instead N. E. Bode wants to mention the books of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dreadful Acts

    Try:
    The Anybodies
    by N.E. Bode

  • Georgia Byng

    Georgia Byng

    Georgia Byng is the creator of Molly Moon and the author of Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism; Molly Moon Stops the World; Molly Moon’s Hypnotic Time Travel Adventure; Molly Moon, Micky Minus, & the Mind ... (more)

We recommend 13 similar authors

View all 13 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Yolk
    Yolk
    by Mary Choi
    Mary H.K. Choi's young adult offering Yolk deftly maintains several plotlines running through the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Blizzard Party
    The Blizzard Party
    by Jack Livings
    It is 1978 and the place is New York City. A massive bacchanalian party is taking place at an Upper ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light of Days
    The Light of Days
    by Judy Batalion
    Renia, Sarah, Zivia, Frumka, Hantze, Tosia, Vladka, Chajka, Gusta, Hela, Bela, Lonka, Tema, Chasia, ...
  • Book Jacket: Hummingbird Salamander
    Hummingbird Salamander
    by Jeff VanderMeer
    In Hummingbird Salamander, Jeff VanderMeer weaves cybersecurity, bioterrorism, wildlife trafficking ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Widow Queen
    by Elzbieta Cherezinska

    The epic story of an 11th century Polish queen whose life and name were all but forgotten until now.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    by Julietta Henderson

    A charming, uplifting debut about a mother and her 12-year-old son, an aspiring comedian.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Miss Austen
by Gill Hornby
A witty, poignant novel about Cassandra Austen and her famous sister, Jane.
Win This Book!
Win The Beauty of Your Face

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020

"Stunning.… A timely family saga with faith and forgiveness at its core."
Marie Claire

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's N S O M N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.