Summary and book reviews of Terrible Times by Philip Ardagh

Terrible Times

Eddie Dickens Trilogy, #3

by Philip Ardagh

Terrible Times
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2003, 160 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2004, 128 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A mysterious stowaway and some familiar faces from Eddie's past complicate matters, as does being tied up and set adrift in a leaky rowboat. Will Eddie ever reach America? Ages 9+.

In the third installment of the Eddie Dickens saga, Eddie, our steadfast hero, finds himself en route to North America aboard the sailing ship Pompous Pig along with a cargo hold full of left shoes, the world-famous Dog's Bone Diamond, and some of the most disreputable traveling companions anyone might have the misfortune to share a berth with. A mysterious stowaway and some familiar faces from Eddie's past only complicate matters, as does being tied up and set adrift in a leaky rowboat. Will Eddie ever reach America?

A Message to My American Readers
Now that I've had a chance to prune my beard


Hullo again, my American chums! Here, at long last, is the final book in the Eddie Dickens Trilogy. The clue is in the word trilogy (t-r-i-l-o-g-y). As the brainiest amongst you already know, it means "a series of three books" and -- as is clearly stated on the cover -- this is Book Three. For those of you who've come with me and Eddie all the way from A House Called Awful End, I hope you've enjoyed the ride. For those of you who are meeting Eddie for the first time, DON'T PANIC. Each book is a self-contained adventure (and beautifully written, too, if I may say so).

For those of you sobbing and wailing about this being the last Eddie book, have no fear (and please quit your blubbering). There's nothing to stop me writing some further adventures, is there? In the meantime, I hope you enjoy Terrible Times.

Philip Ardagh, England 2002

EPISODE I
Explosive News!
In which America is mentioned,
but the author gets somewhat sidetracked

"America?" said Eddie Dickens in amazement. "You want me to go to America?" His mother nodded. This was difficult because she was wearing an enormous neck brace, which looked rather like one of those huge plastic collars vets sometimes put around dogs' heads to prevent them from licking wounds; only hers was made of whalebone and starched linen.

Before you start crying, "Poor whale!" and writing off letters of complaint, I wish to point out two things: firstly, these events took place in the nineteenth century, when things were very different from the twenty-first; secondly, the whale whose bones were used to make the frame for Mrs. Dickens's neck brace had died of natural causes after a long and fulfilling life at sea, with plenty of singing, which is, apparently, what whales like doing most.

Okay, it hadn't said, "When I die, I hope my bones are used to ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Boston Herald

Young adults and older readers alike will laugh, groan and ultimately pull for Eddie in Philip Ardagh's quirky third installment of the 'Eddie Dickens Trilogy'.

Kirkus Reviews

After many digressions, narrowly averted disasters, and silly set pieces à la Monty Python, Eddie survives a murder attempt, brings his nefarious governess to justice, and returns in triumph to the family digs at Awful End. In occasional small ink drawings, Roberts endows the entire cast with madly staring eyes and appropriately disheveled looks. Lemony Snicket fans in need of a happy ending might take to this very British farce as a change of pace. (Fiction. 10-12)

Publishers Weekly

PW said in a starred review of the series' launch, A House Called Awful End, Kids who lap up Lemony Snicket's series will take quickly to this tale and clamor for the next.

Reader Reviews

didi.t

i love this book!
It's a hilarious book. I love the whole series!

Jesse2you

This book is great if your sad and bored or if you cant find any more Lemony Snicket books. All 3 of the books are good. So buy it and the other 2 so you'll wont regret it. Also im doing a review at school about awful end .also if you want to now ...   Read More

Jennifer

It was a great book! I loved the whole series!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Terrible Times, try these:

  • Leaping Beauty jacket

    Leaping Beauty

    by Gregory Maguire

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Zany animals of all species run through these fractured retellings of classic stories, including Cinderella recast as an enormous, lovable elephant and Sleeping Beauty as a frog with a promising dance career.

  • The Anybodies jacket

    The Anybodies

    by N.E. Bode

    Published 2005

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    This book promises suspense! Intrigue! Mystery! Fairies fall out of books! Birds turn into dogs! Nuns turn into lampposts! So I have no idea why you're still lingering here. . . . Start reading! (Ages 9+)

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.