Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Lisa Unger Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Lisa Unger
Photo: Tanya Sharkey

Lisa Unger

An interview with Lisa Unger

Lisa Unger talks about her first book, Beautiful Lies, a thriller in which a woman discovers she is not who she thinks she is.

What elements of the story come from your own experience living in New York City?

For me and for most fiction writers, I think, it is true to say that everything and nothing in my work is autobiographical. As much as the plot, the events, and the characters are purely from my imagination, of course all of these things are an amalgamation of my experiences, relationships, observations, literary influences, etc.

In the case of Beautiful Lies, however, much of the setting has been mined from my own history. The apartment where Ridley lives is an exact recall of my first New York City apartment in the East Village. She stands where I stood many a morning trying to hail a cab when she first spots Justin Wheeler. Places like Five Roses and Veniero's are real places in that neighborhood and places that I have loved. The streets she walks, the subways and taxis are all from my direct experience. I have had a love affair with the city most of my life. But it wasn't until after I'd left there, that all the beauty of it came back to me. I know that place better than I know any other. For me it lives and breathes; I can hear it and smell it and feel its rhythm when I write about it.

Is Ridley like you (or unlike you) in any way?

I think Ridley is more like me that any other character who has visited me, without being exactly like me. In many ways she is more sheltered and naïve that I am, has had a more picture-perfect upbringing … or so she thought. She's a bit of a commitment-phobe, which I have never been. I'm not sure I would have made some of the choices she makes along the way in Beautiful Lies. But a good deal of her observations are similar to my own … her reflections on life, love, sex and what defines a family are things with which I might agree if the questions were posed to me.

Is there an anecdote you can share about coming up with the story?

The idea for Beautiful Lies came to me in the mail. I received one of those postcards with the face of a missing child on the back. It was one of those age graduated pictures that tells you the child has been missing for years, no answer to what happened to her ever discovered. I'd received them before, of course, and the awful mystery of it has always stopped me in my tracks, imagining what might have happened. While staring at this particular photo, I asked a question: What if I looked at one of these postcards and recognized myself? From there, the story just spun out.

What is your writing process like?

Most of my novels began with a question like I mentioned above. A “what if…” that builds and builds on itself. Or I might just hear a voice, someone with a story to tell. It could be a news story I read, or a sentence I hear or just an image that inspires me. And then I write. I write without an outline and without knowing exactly where the story is going. Sometimes I have a vague idea about certain events but generally speaking I write for the same reason that I read, because I want to know what's going to happen. If I knew the ending it would suck all the life out of the process for me.

What do you like to read for pleasure? What are you reading now?

For most writers, their first love is reading. And I have been an avid reader all my life. Once I became a professional writer, I lost that love a little bit. It has been hard in recent years to read fiction without reading critically … and by that I mean without studying what I'm reading, thinking “oh, that didn't work!” or “why didn't I write that?!” I miss the way I use to easily lose myself in a great book. Today, I know when I do lose myself that I'm in the presence of a master. And I so appreciate and respect that.

These days I find myself reading a lot of non-fiction. I just finished Devil in the White City, a really intelligent and compelling tapestry of American history and true crime. I recently read Stiff by Mary Roach which I found horrifying and positively riveting. There are things I read in that book that I wish I didn't know. But I loved it!

What writers have most influenced you?

Hmm … that's a tough one. If you asked me who my favorite writers are, I would say: Truman Capote, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, John Irving, Ayn Rand, Keri Hulme, Tolstoy, Tolkein … the list would go on and on. Can I say that I've been influenced by these people? I suppose in certain ways, in that their works were what first inspired me to write. It was somewhere in those novels that I realized if I can read, if I can imagine, I can create worlds. I love the combination of terrible beauty, the lovely sadness and grim reality in Capote, the magical realism where the extraordinary, the supernatural dwell side by side with the mundane in Marquez. I admire the human folly and depth of emotion in Irving, the sheer brilliance and epic scope of Rand. I could never compare myself to these titans except to say that I aspire. Their talent has been a lifelong-inspiration.

My favorite people writing thrillers today would have to be Dennis Lehane and John Connelly. Again, I wouldn't say I've been influenced by either of them. But I will say that I admire the way they each seamlessly blend brilliant plotting, riveting characterization, and simply gorgeous prose. There aren't many people writing that well, mastering all the elements of great suspense.

What's next for Ridley?

A. She's got a long road ahead of her, I think. When I closed the book on her, I really thought we were done. But I have since realized that there's a good deal more to say. Let's just say our Ridley's not one to let the dead lie. There will be a sequel to Beautiful Lies. At this writing, it's entitled Ghost.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Lisa Unger at BookBrowse
Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six jacket Last Girl Ghosted jacket Confessions on the 7:45 jacket The Stranger Inside jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Lisa Unger but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Julie Clark

    Julie Clark

    Julie Clark is the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight. It has earned starred reviews from Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, and Library Journal, and the New York Times has called it "thoroughly absorbing". It's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Beautiful Lies

    Try:
    The Last Flight
    by Julie Clark

  • Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben was born and raised in New Jersey.  After graduating from Amherst College as political science major, he worked in the travel industry. He now lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Beautiful Lies

    Try:
    The Innocent
    by Harlan Coben

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.