Gregory Maguire Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Gregory Maguire
©2008 Andy Newman

Gregory Maguire

How to pronounce Gregory Maguire: ma-gwire (rhymes with liar)

An interview with Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked; Mirror, Mirror and Son of a Witch, discusses his books, the places he loves most and what he hates about writing.

Where do you get your ideas?
A writer tries not to steal ideas from other writers. However, it is the nature of ideas—I think—that they rarely appear full-blown, like the visitation of an angel or a muse or a fairy godmother, but they grow in good soil, like a pumpkin or a hollyhock.
I try to keep the soil of my mind moist and rich by feeding it with other people's inventions (good books, movies, not so much with TV, except occasionally The Simpsons), and with a steady variety of different experiences. Trips to new places, meetings with friends old and new, times spent in memory. I use a journal to help me remember and record what I see and feel.

The works of other artists, the effect of a busy and curious life, the active exercise of my imagination and memory through a journal—these are the three main sources of ideas. But dreams, wide and gusty dreams, are a big help, too.

What prompted you to write Wicked?
I was living in London in the early 1990's during the start of the Gulf War. I was interested to see how my own blood temperature chilled at reading a headline in the usually cautious British newspaper, the Times of London: Sadaam Hussein: The New Hitler? I caught myself ready to have a fully-formed political opinion about the Gulf War and the necessity of action against Sadaam Hussein on the basis of how that headline made me feel. The use of the word Hitler—what a word! What it evokes!

When a few months later several young schoolboys kidnapped and killed a toddler, the British press paid much attention to the nature of the crime. I became interested in the nature of evil, and whether one really could be born bad. I considered briefly writing a novel about Hitler, but discarded the notion due to my general discomfort with the reality of those times. But when I realized that nobody had ever written about the second most evil character in our collective American subconscious, the Wicked Witch of the West, I thought I had experienced a small moment of inspiration.

Have you had any experience with adaptations of your novels?
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister has been filmed as an ABC TV program for the Sunday evening Wonderful World of Disney. It is a serious two-hour drama, suitable for all ages. It stars Stockard Channing and Jonathan Pryce, and features as the stepsisters Azura Skye and Emma Poole. I went to Luxembourg to loiter on the set and watch the professionals do their work—a whole different kind of magic from writing.

For information on how I approached the business of watching Wicked be transformed into a Broadway play, read the liner notes of the original cast recording. I will add, though, that the play required a more streamlined plot—and a plot more suitable for general audiences—and therefore I observed the story change in ways I hadn't anticipated. Though not wholly delighted with some of the plot variations, nor am I dismayed. I understand that the translation from medium to medium requires modification, patience, and good spirits. Besides, haven't I made my own story by modifying earlier material, deeply beloved and staunchly supported by Oz purists (who called me heretical at first) and Judy Garland devotees? Art requires daring and sacrifice, and I was happy to let the professional dramaturges do their work. And, for the record: I love the show.

What places do you love best in the world?
The heart of the Adirondack Mountains in upstate New York is Blue Mountain Lake. It is isolated, beautiful, and serves as the setting for an arts colony called Blue Mountain Center, to which I have gone many times over the past fifteen years.

I feel myself at home in London, where I lived for five years, and in Greece, where my family on the maternal side originates. I don't speak much Greek, and I don't get there often, but I feel fully at home when the Olympic Airways jet touches down at the Athens International Airport.

Places that have literary associations can't help but thrill me—the Lake District in England, and Lucy Boston's Manor House at Hemingford Grey, Cambridgeshire; the tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis in Crete; the Emily Dickinson homestead in Amherst. I love Frederic Church's home, Olana, outside of Hudson, New York, as well as certain lively streets in Manhattan.

I love home best. Home, these days, is Massachusetts.

What is your daily writing process?
While I do some nonprofit work in literature education, and speak at schools as a visiting author, most days I try to write at home. This involves packing the kids off to their preschools, whirling about the house in a tornado of activity, doing beds, dishes, laundry, and general domestic rehabilitation. When that is done—it usually takes an hour—I get several hours at my desk. The writing occurs on the computer or by hand in a notebook; sometimes, to get myself started, I go out for a walk or a cup of coffee at a local café first.

When I have writer's block—which isn't often—a walk usually helps get things moving again, even if I don't feel that I'm thinking about anything pertinent while I walk. The reading of good poetry also helps that part of the mind that uses language to limber up, relax a bit—it's akin to shaking your sillies out, in the terms of that children's song. Working the kinks out, breaking your own bad habits of easy thinking.

What do you hate most about writing?
Stopping.

And writer's cramp.

Who represents you (and how can I contact them)?

My literary agent is:
William Reiss
John Hawkins and Associates
71 West 23rd St.
1600/NY, NY 10010
www.jhaliterary.com

My Hollywood agent is:
Stephen Moore
Stephen@paulkohner.com
Paul Kohner Inc.
9300 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 555
Beverly Hills, CA 90212


My publicist is:
Jennifer Suitor
Jennifer.Suitor@harpercollins.com
HarperCollins
10 East 53rd Street
NY, NY 10022

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Gregory Maguire at BookBrowse
Hiddensee jacket After Alice jacket Egg and Spoon jacket Out of Oz jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Gregory Maguire but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Philip Ardagh

    Philip Ardagh

    Philip 'Beardy' Ardagh is the award-winning author of the Eddie Dickens adventures, currently available in over 30 languages. He wrote BBC Radio's first truly interactive radio drama, collaborated with Sir Paul... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Leaping Beauty

    Try:
    Terrible Times
    by Philip Ardagh

  • Georgia Byng

    Georgia Byng

    Georgia Byng is the creator of Molly Moon and the author of Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism; Molly Moon Stops the World; Molly Moon’s Hypnotic Time Travel Adventure; Molly Moon, Micky Minus, & the Mind ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Leaping Beauty

    Try:
    Molly Moon Stops The World
    by Georgia Byng

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Gilded Ones
    The Gilded Ones
    by Namina Forna
    After years of feeling like an outcast, Deka wants nothing more than to pass through the Ritual of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    What makes humans human? It's a mystery that has inspired philosophers and driven scientific ...
  • Book Jacket: Genesis
    Genesis
    by Guido Tonelli
    Popular science books represent an important niche in non-fiction. They build a bridge between ...
  • Book Jacket: Buses Are a Comin'
    Buses Are a Comin'
    by Charles Person, Richard Rooker
    Charles Person was just 18 years old in 1961 when he became the youngest of the first wave of '...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Ariadne
by Jennifer Saint
A mesmerizing debut novel about Ariadne, Princess of Crete for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Theater for Dreamers
    by Polly Samson

    A spellbinding tour-de-force about the beauty between naïveté and cruelty, artist and muse.

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

Win This Book!
Win The Girls in the Stilt House

The Girls in the Stilt House by Kelly Mustian

"Remarkable debut...a nearly flawless tale of loss...and redemption."
—PW, starred review

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F A C Starve A F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.