MLA Platinum Award Press Release

William Boyd Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

William Boyd
Eamonn McCabe

William Boyd

An interview with William Boyd

Sara Nelson talks with William Boyd about Sweet Caress, why he enjoys writing "full-life novels", and how he considers this book to be the third panel of a tryptich: New Confessions, Any Human Heart and Sweet Caress

One of the reasons I knew that my best friend Jessie was going to be my best friend, and that Sam was going to be my husband was because early on in both relationships, we shared a secret: we were both crazy about the British author William Boyd.  Specifically, in the case of Sam, we bonded over Boyd's 2001 novel, Any Human Heart, the story of the 20th century through the eyes of an ordinary British man living  through it. 

So when Sweet Caress landed on my desk, and its editor told me that Boyd's latest novel was in "Any Human Heart" territory, I was especially motivated to read it. Like Any Human Heart – and like another of Boyd's great novels, The New Confessions – it is the story of a time and many places, as experienced by a specific character, in this case a female photographer named Amory Clay.  Born in the first decade of the 20th century, Amory – whose father named her that because he'd really wanted a son -- grows up to be independent-minded and ambitious. She travels the world – from 1930s Germany to New York to the battlefields of WWII and ultimately Viet Nam – living her life, telling stories through her photos. An added element to this otherwise traditionally structured novel is the fact that Boyd illustrates his text with photos of characters and the documentable settings in which they find themselves. I asked Boyd about this and other things in a delightful, free ranging call to his home in London. Some of our conversation: 

What was your thinking behind writing about a photographer? 

I had the idea that Amory would be a photographer because in my research and study of photographers, I became aware that women photographers had a very egalitarian co existence with their male counterparts, pre WWI. It's a very unusual profession in the sense that there is no glass ceiling, that there were professional women photographers flourishing before the first World War and particularly between the wars. The lives of these women photographers, were pretty remarkable, in their roller coaster rackety nature. So it seemed to me that by choosing that profession, I could give her a kind of independence and independent spirit, and as a woman photographer she wouldn't be tied to the traditional roles and jobs women had in the early 20th century. She'd have a freedom to rove.   

So which came first, the photos or the story?   

I knew the story of Amory's life, and I knew where I wanted to take her and what I wanted her to do. It was the narrative that by and large organized or focused the search for the photographs. For example, the Fascist marches in the east end of London, I wanted to have her to witness them and participate in them..., so I went out to search for photographs of those marches....It was in that order, with the odd exception of when I came across a particular photograph and I thought this is perfect. I'll just give the narrative a bit of a swerve so I can use it. 

This is one of what you call your "whole life" novels; like Any Human Heart and The New Confessions, it follows a character basically from birth to death. Is that your preferred way to write?   

Yes, well, it's sort of an enterprise  I've been working on since 1987, but with no program in mind. In a way you might say Sweet Caress is the third panel of a tryptich: New Confessions, Any Human Heart and now Sweet Caress, full-life novels. Most novels are a slice of life, but not many novels are cradle to grave.  Something about that enterprise that appeals to me: it has the effect on a reader of giving them all the information about the central character; for the reader it kind of breeds a special relationship. In all these three novels, the reader-character relationship seems all the more intense You know the whole life, you've followed the character through infancy, childhood, adolescence, adulthood, et etc.  So by the time you reach the end of their life, your acquaintance with the character is incredibly thorough. And the catharsis is more poignant, more telling. 

Is it difficult to write from the point of view of a woman, especially a woman from a different time?

I did it for the first time in 1990 with my novel Brazzaville Beach which is written from the point of a view of a young woman scientist.  Restless, too, my spy novel, is a woman's point of view. When I first started [doing this] I had a certain measure of trepidation, but my wife Susan read it and said, "No, this works." And then a lot of the first reviews were by women who said, "She comes off the page as a real woman and not some male fantasy version of a woman. The way I achieve it is by forgetting  all questions of gender and sexual politics and received wisdom about the difference between men and women and just concentrate entirely on character and personality and all decisions that might seem to be gender orientated are solved by answering the question on a personality level: How would somebody who's like this react in this situation? And that would be true the other way around as well – a woman writing from a man's point of view. Just think about nature and personality and character and your narrative or dilemma will be resolved with plausibility and authenticity.


This interview was first published on Amazon's Omnivoracious, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher, Bloomsbury Publishing

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Kindness of Strangers
    The Kindness of Strangers
    by Michael E. McCullough
    "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." Everyone, at some point in their life, has ...
  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Hieroglyphics
    by Jill McCorkle

    A mesmerizing novel about piecing together the hieroglyphics of history and memory.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.