William Boyd Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

William Boyd
Eamonn McCabe

William Boyd

An interview with William Boyd

Sara Nelson talks with William Boyd about Sweet Caress, why he enjoys writing "full-life novels", and how he considers this book to be the third panel of a tryptich: New Confessions, Any Human Heart and Sweet Caress

One of the reasons I knew that my best friend Jessie was going to be my best friend, and that Sam was going to be my husband was because early on in both relationships, we shared a secret: we were both crazy about the British author William Boyd.  Specifically, in the case of Sam, we bonded over Boyd's 2001 novel, Any Human Heart, the story of the 20th century through the eyes of an ordinary British man living  through it. 

So when Sweet Caress landed on my desk, and its editor told me that Boyd's latest novel was in "Any Human Heart" territory, I was especially motivated to read it. Like Any Human Heart – and like another of Boyd's great novels, The New Confessions – it is the story of a time and many places, as experienced by a specific character, in this case a female photographer named Amory Clay.  Born in the first decade of the 20th century, Amory – whose father named her that because he'd really wanted a son -- grows up to be independent-minded and ambitious. She travels the world – from 1930s Germany to New York to the battlefields of WWII and ultimately Viet Nam – living her life, telling stories through her photos. An added element to this otherwise traditionally structured novel is the fact that Boyd illustrates his text with photos of characters and the documentable settings in which they find themselves. I asked Boyd about this and other things in a delightful, free ranging call to his home in London. Some of our conversation: 

What was your thinking behind writing about a photographer? 

I had the idea that Amory would be a photographer because in my research and study of photographers, I became aware that women photographers had a very egalitarian co existence with their male counterparts, pre WWI. It's a very unusual profession in the sense that there is no glass ceiling, that there were professional women photographers flourishing before the first World War and particularly between the wars. The lives of these women photographers, were pretty remarkable, in their roller coaster rackety nature. So it seemed to me that by choosing that profession, I could give her a kind of independence and independent spirit, and as a woman photographer she wouldn't be tied to the traditional roles and jobs women had in the early 20th century. She'd have a freedom to rove.   

So which came first, the photos or the story?   

I knew the story of Amory's life, and I knew where I wanted to take her and what I wanted her to do. It was the narrative that by and large organized or focused the search for the photographs. For example, the Fascist marches in the east end of London, I wanted to have her to witness them and participate in them..., so I went out to search for photographs of those marches....It was in that order, with the odd exception of when I came across a particular photograph and I thought this is perfect. I'll just give the narrative a bit of a swerve so I can use it. 

This is one of what you call your "whole life" novels; like Any Human Heart and The New Confessions, it follows a character basically from birth to death. Is that your preferred way to write?   

Yes, well, it's sort of an enterprise  I've been working on since 1987, but with no program in mind. In a way you might say Sweet Caress is the third panel of a tryptich: New Confessions, Any Human Heart and now Sweet Caress, full-life novels. Most novels are a slice of life, but not many novels are cradle to grave.  Something about that enterprise that appeals to me: it has the effect on a reader of giving them all the information about the central character; for the reader it kind of breeds a special relationship. In all these three novels, the reader-character relationship seems all the more intense You know the whole life, you've followed the character through infancy, childhood, adolescence, adulthood, et etc.  So by the time you reach the end of their life, your acquaintance with the character is incredibly thorough. And the catharsis is more poignant, more telling. 

Is it difficult to write from the point of view of a woman, especially a woman from a different time?

I did it for the first time in 1990 with my novel Brazzaville Beach which is written from the point of a view of a young woman scientist.  Restless, too, my spy novel, is a woman's point of view. When I first started [doing this] I had a certain measure of trepidation, but my wife Susan read it and said, "No, this works." And then a lot of the first reviews were by women who said, "She comes off the page as a real woman and not some male fantasy version of a woman. The way I achieve it is by forgetting  all questions of gender and sexual politics and received wisdom about the difference between men and women and just concentrate entirely on character and personality and all decisions that might seem to be gender orientated are solved by answering the question on a personality level: How would somebody who's like this react in this situation? And that would be true the other way around as well – a woman writing from a man's point of view. Just think about nature and personality and character and your narrative or dilemma will be resolved with plausibility and authenticity.


This interview was first published on Amazon's Omnivoracious, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher, Bloomsbury Publishing

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by William Boyd at BookBrowse
Love Is Blind jacket Sweet Caress jacket Waiting for Sunrise jacket Ordinary Thunderstorms jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for William Boyd but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Banville

    John Banville

    John Banville, the author of seventeen novels, has been the recipient of the Man Booker Prize, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Guardian Fiction Award, the Franz Kafka Prize, a Lannan Literary Award for Fiction, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Any Human Heart

    Try:
    The Sea
    by John Banville

  • Saul Bellow

    Saul Bellow

    Saul Bellow was born in Lachine, Quebec on June 10, 1915, and was raised in Chicago. He attended the University of Chicago, received his Bachelor's degree from Northwestern University in 1937, with honors in sociology and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Any Human Heart

    Try:
    Ravelstein
    by Saul Bellow

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: City Under One Roof
    City Under One Roof
    by Iris Yamashita
    When a disembodied arm and leg wash ashore in Point Mettier, Alaska, most residents assume they ...
  • Book Jacket: We Deserve Monuments
    We Deserve Monuments
    by Jas Hammonds
    Jas Hammonds' debut young adult novel We Deserve Monuments provides a fresh look at the coming-of-...
  • Book Jacket
    Factory Girls
    by Leslie T. Chang
    Considering the articles in recent years regarding toy recalls or melamine-tainted milk ...
  • Book Jacket: Con/Artist
    Con/Artist
    by Tony Tetro, Giampiero Ambrosi
    As a lover of both art and true crime media, art forgery stories are a goldmine for me. They have ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Mitford Affair
by Marie Benedict
An explosive novel of history's most notorious sisters, one of whom will have to choose: her country or her family?

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ghost Season
    by Fatin Abbas

    A beautifully orchestrated debut connecting five people caught in the crosshairs of conflict on the Sudanese border.

  • Book Jacket

    Margot
    by Wendell Steavenson

    A young woman struggles to break free of her upper-class upbringing amid the whirlwind years of the sexual revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    The Nazi Conspiracy
    by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch

    From two bestselling authors, the true story of the plot to kill Roosevelt, Stalin, and Churchill.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

C To T Q

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.