We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Cornelia Funke Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Cornelia Funke

Cornelia Funke

How to pronounce Cornelia Funke: cor-neelia funka -click the link in the bio to hear the author pronounce her own name (funke is German for 'spark')

An interview with Cornelia Funke

Cornelia Funke offers advice to aspiring writers and describes her most precious memory.



Name:
Cornelia Funke

Born:
1958

Lives:
Hamburg, northern Germany

Where did you grow up?
In Dorsten, a little town in the midst of Germany (not very pretty).

What were you like at school?
Good - and not ambitious (which means, quite lazy) but I loved to write essays, though always too long and not always strictly on the topic, and English.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to be an astronaut, later on a pilot or live with the Red Indians. I was quite serious about all these plans.

What did you do after you left school?
I studied Education (the most stupid idea of my life), because I wanted to work in some way with children, not as a teacher, but as a social worker. I think, I wanted to make the world a better place, but I found out, that you can't live against your gifts. And my gifts are writing and drawing. I nevertheless learned very much about children, when I worked as a social worker. I still have the greatest respect for the ones, I met in those years - and they all had bad, bad things to deal with, and did it so bravely. In The Thief Lord I tried to describe, how much children can care for each other even under the worst circumstances, even if they are left alone by their parents.

Why did you begin writing/illustrating?
As I said above, you shouldn't ignore your gifts - so after having worked as a social worker for about three years I became an illustrator, and when I never got stories I liked, I started to write them myself - and discovered my passion for writing is much bigger than for illustrating.

How would you describe your books?
They are stories. I am a storyteller.

Where do your ideas come from?
From everywhere and nowhere, from outside and inside. I have so many, I won't be able to write them down in one lifetime.

What is your ideal place and time for writing/illustrating?
I can write everywhere (illustrating is a different thing, you need your material). My favorite place for writing at the moment is a small table in a small house in Malibu, California, straight at the Pacific, where dolphins and pelicans pass and I hear the ocean. But my writing room in Hamburg is also a very nice place.

Which book would you most like to have written?
Oh, of course everything from Shakespeare - and then T. H. White: The Once and Future King.

What is your favorite film?
Gods and Monsters by Bill Condon, with Ian McKellen, Lynn Redgrave and Brendan Fraser (but I warn you, it is rather boring for children!)

What is your favorite music?
Henry Purcell (weird, my son would say) and Neil Young - oh yes, and I like Annie Lennox.

What is the funniest joke you know?
It doesn't work in written form, but it has to do with two hippos, the three kings and Bethlehem

What is your most precious memory?
The birth of my two children of course - but in the past two years so many precious memories have piled in my heart, that for the rest I can't choose one anymore. They are all about meeting people, finding new friends, working together. My memories of the past two years are like a box of treasures, and I am sure, there will be a time, where I will like to open it and look at them still shining.

What are you most proud of?
Very easy. My two children, Anna and Ben

What is your advice for aspiring authors/illustrators?
Read - and be curious. And if somebody says to you: ‘Things are this way. You can't change it.' don't believe a word (Shel Silverstein put this much better in a poem).

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Cornelia Funke at BookBrowse
Reckless jacket Inkdeath jacket Igraine The Brave jacket When Santa Fell To Earth jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Cornelia Funke but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams is the best-selling author of A Perfect Crime, The Tutor, The Fan, and Lights Out, for which he received an Edgar® Award nomination; and Down The Rabbit Hole, a novel for children. He lives in Falmouth, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Inkheart

    Try:
    Down The Rabbit Hole
    by Peter Abrahams

  • Author Image Not Available

    N.E. Bode

    N. E. Bode doesn't really want a biographical note -- afraid that it might turn out like the shameless self-promotional grandstanding of a certain former Writing Teacher. Instead N. E. Bode wants to mention the books of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Inkheart

    Try:
    The Anybodies
    by N.E. Bode

We recommend 26 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.