Dr John Brandenburg Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Dr John Brandenburg

Dr John Brandenburg

An interview with Dr John Brandenburg

Dr. John Brandenburg answers the question, “Has it been scientifically proven that life once existed on Mars?”, describes the effects of global warming, discusses the link between carbon dioxide and asthma, and briefly outlines his plan for reversing the effects of global warming.

Life on Mars? Life on Earth? -- by Marie-Claire Wilson.

Earth, the third planet from the Sun, is situated between Venus, the second planet, and Mars, the fourth planet. Mars is the most important planet with respect to ours. We may not realize how fragile the planets are. Mars is showing effects of human pollution in space, and that in turn will have repercussions on Earth.

Has it been scientifically proven that life once existed on Mars?

The media has recently widely reported that it’s been demonstrated that life exists on Mars. The Moon mission that brought back some Moon rocks for our scientists to examine proved that these rocks have the same composition as Earth rocks. Meteorites are identified by their special composition, and they lend strong evidence that there is life on Mars. Recently, in addition to Dead Mars, Dying Earth, we became partners in the scientific discovery called oxygen inventory depletion, or OID, in which the Earth’s oxygen levels were discovered to be dropping. I realized that we’re running a serious risk that if the planet Mars died, it would mean a catastrophe for Earth and the Universe.

Describe the effects of global warming on our atmosphere and the link between decreasing oxygen and increasing carbon dioxide.

We are presently putting two billion more tons of carbon dioxide into the oceans each year than were entering the ocean before the use of fossil fuels. When extra carbon dioxide goes into the ocean, a large amount of oxygen is leached out of the water at the same time and released into the atmosphere. This will have a potentially disastrous consequence for ocean life. But now the atmospheric levels of oxygen are gradually dropping even though more and more oxygen is being forced into the atmosphere displaced by many billions of tons of oceanic carbon dioxide. We are thus covering our oxygen deficit by making huge withdrawals from the oceanic oxygen bank. Our actual reduction in atmospheric oxygen must be much greater. But we are really concerned with the possibility that one day the oceans will return larger amounts of the excess carbon dioxide stored in their depths to the atmosphere. While this is a worst case scenario, unfortunately it cannot be completely ruled out because no one knows for certain what the threshold conditions for carbon dioxide release from the oceans really are. And for the most part, if the carbon dioxide that is stored there escapes into the atmosphere, then we truly will have a catastrophe of epic proportions.

Is the recent increase in asthma due to increased carbon dioxide?

Yes, absolutely. The damage that is done to the environment will impact each of us. Carbon dioxide at slightly elevated levels may also negatively alter the ability of our bodies to utilize oxygen within our cells. A group of European scientists discovered that there are important bio-ecological problems such as the increase of carbon dioxide concentration in the atmosphere, and that affects humans and animals. Even slightly increased levels of carbon dioxide change our normal breathing, which can cause asthma.

Briefly, outline your plan for reversing the effects of global warming.

The world community should commit to accomplish the following by 2010:

  1. Develop fusion power. It is relatively clean and produces no greenhouse gases.
  2. Develop practical cars and reinvigorate a world-wide electrical rail transit system, along the lines of the European Union System.
  3. Pay rainforest nations for their oxygen production.
  4. Continue to aggressively develop solar energy.
  5. Fund a vigorous manned and unmanned space program.
  6. Ratify the Kyoto Protocol for all nations.
  7. Move closer to nature, and conserve and practice a lifestyle less dependent on fossil fuels and electricity.
  8. Put money for environmental problems wherever it can best reduce the worst problems on the globe.
  9. Create a Peace Corps comprised of members from every country and expand its mission to include a worldwide project to reverse the effects of global warming.

    Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" articles
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
    • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr John Brandenburg at BookBrowse
Dead Mars, Dying Earth jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr John Brandenburg but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jared Diamond

    Jared Diamond

    Jared Diamond, a noted polymath, is Professor of Geography at the University of California, Los Angeles. Among his many awards are the U.S. National Medal of Science, Japan's Cosmos Prize, a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, a... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth

    Try:
    Collapse
    by Jared Diamond

  • Tim Flannery

    Tim Flannery

    Dr. Flannery has made contributions of international significance to the fields of palaeontology, mammalogy and conservation and to the understanding of science in the broader community. His work, which includes a number of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth

    Try:
    The Weather Makers
    by Tim Flannery

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Genesis
    Genesis
    by Guido Tonelli
    Popular science books represent an important niche in non-fiction. They build a bridge between ...
  • Book Jacket: Buses Are a Comin'
    Buses Are a Comin'
    by Charles Person, Richard Rooker
    Charles Person was just 18 years old in 1961 when he became the youngest of the first wave of '...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Angeline Boulley's young adult novel Firekeeper's Daughter follows 18-year-old Daunis — ...
  • Book Jacket: Winter in Sokcho
    Winter in Sokcho
    by Elisa Dusapin
    Our unnamed narrator is a young French-Korean woman who works at a guest house in Sokcho, a popular ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Of Women and Salt
by Gabriela Garcia
A kaleidoscopic portrait of generations of women from a 19th-century Cuban cigar factory to the present day.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Theater for Dreamers
    by Polly Samson

    A spellbinding tour-de-force about the beauty between naïveté and cruelty, artist and muse.

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

Who Said...

A book is one of the most patient of all man's inventions.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S I T closet

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.