Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Yusef Salaam Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Yusef Salaam

Yusef Salaam

An interview with Yusef Salaam

A note from Dr. Yusef Salaam on his book Punching the Air, poetry, and his own wrongful conviction.

When I initially started writing, it was because, like many young brothers, I wanted to be a hip-hop artist. I had been writing rhymes since I was eleven or twelve years old. The "Central Park Five jogger" case happened in 1989, during an era in music when message-driven hip-hop songs were hot. Self Destruction, KRS-One's Love's Gonna Get'cha, and Public Enemy were some of the artists and songs that were shaping my style as a writer and were essentially the soundtrack of my life. I especially gravitated toward Public Enemy, who came out with a flow that sounded less like rap and more like a speech.

When I was convicted, it was the start of me realizing that I needed to say something. I wondered how I was going to speak my truth. For the first time, I realized that this art form I had been honing since childhood, hip-hop, was going to allow me to get my message across at this most critical point in my life.

On the day I was convicted, I remember being in and out of the courtroom. I had my shades on, head up, trying to feel and look confident, trying to be strong in the face of a very serious situation. At the same time, and still after everything we had already been through, I'd held out hope that the system would not fail us, that justice would prevail. If you look back on the footage from that day, what you will see is a young man who was sure he was going home that day. When the verdict came down and we were convicted, I was completely devastated. Never in a million years could you have convinced me that the system was going to do us like this, and then, the system did us like that.

Now, there I was in the courthouse, waiting for my sentence and being told that I should throw myself at the mercy of the court; that I should plead for the least amount of time possible. But I had been reading about Malcolm X and others who were in the struggle. I had been inspired by hip-hop acts who were using their art to spread powerful messages about our experiences, and I started writing instead. The words literally flowed through me like I was a vessel. And when our sentences were handed down, and I was given the stage to speak my truth, I read a poem entitled "I Stand Accused."

I wrote it in that moment and it summed up everything I felt and knew I needed to say to the court and to the world. As time passed, not only was art something that allowed me to escape the harsh realities of imprisonment, but being able to write about these experiences really saved my life. Being able to share my thoughts on paper gave me an out. It was a way to keep my mind free, even though I was physically locked up. It provided a relief that I couldn't find in any other way.

My mother used to always say to me that everybody —everybody—has gifts, and these gifts are the way to freedom. I didn't always understand what she meant by that, but I knew she was trying to encourage me and make me see things in a positive light. I have since learned to see, embrace, and even build on those gifts—drawing and writing poetry and rhymes.

Punching the Air builds on some of the poetry I wrote while I was incarcerated. When Ibi and I started to discuss what kind of story we wanted to tell, we started with a name—Amal, which means "hope" in Arabic. It was important that whatever this teen boy was going through, he should always have hope, and we should write a story that instills hope in readers. It was also important that we make Amal's mother a prominent figure in his life, in the same way that mine was. While Punching the Air is not my story, Amal's character is inspired by me as an artist and as an incarcerated teen who had the support of his family, read lots of books, and made art to keep his mind free. Amal has to grow up really fast in a juvenile detention center, just like I did. But in his heart, his faith is strong. Ibi and I wanted people to know that when you find yourself in so-called dark places, there's always a light somewhere in the darkness, even if that light is inside of you. You can illuminate your own darkness by shedding that light onto the world.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Yusef Salaam at BookBrowse
Punching the Air jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Yusef Salaam but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Laurie Halse Anderson

    Laurie Halse Anderson

    Laurie Halse Anderson is the New York Times-bestselling author who writes for kids of all ages. Known for tackling tough subjects with humor and sensitivity, her work has earned numerous international, national, and state ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Punching the Air

    Try:
    Shout
    by Laurie Halse Anderson

  • Curtis Dawkins

    Curtis Dawkins

    Curtis Dawkins grew up in rural Illinois and earned an MFA in fiction writing at Western Michigan University. He has struggled with alcohol and substance abuse through most of his life and, during a botched home robbery, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Punching the Air

    Try:
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.
Who Said...

Information is the currency of democracy

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.