Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Isabella Hammad Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Isabella Hammad

Isabella Hammad

An interview with Isabella Hammad

An Interview with Isabella Hammad, author of The Parisian, and how her own family history effected her writing.

I noticed that one of the families in Nablus in the novel shares your last name, Hammad. Is there a connection there to your personal history?

The Hammads in the novel are based on my grandmother's maternal family; my surname actually comes from the man she married, my grandfather, who was from a separate branch of the same family. The main character, Midhat Kamal, is based loosely on my great grandfather, and the basic frame of the novel is inspired by stories I was told about Midhat when I was a child. In writing about the fictional Midhat, the principal question in my mind was: how does a young man like this, from Nablus, end up becoming "The Parisian"? My answer was in part a love story, but also a story about selfhood, dislocation, and longing, not only for people but also for place.

After being sent away to study in France during WWI, Midhat returns to Nablus and earns the nickname "The Parisian." What role does his education play in his identity and evolution as a character?

Midhat's time in France at the beginning of the novel is formative not only as an experience of rupture and rejection, but also as an object of his nostalgia. His continued obsession with France, most specifically with French clothes, is an expression of yearning for that country and the people there. His French education, both inside and outside the university, affects the way his mind develops over the timespan of the novel, as well as his aspirations, his sense of aesthetics, and his sense of reality.

The novel is full generally of people studying—books, human bodies, one another. I was interested in playing with the relationships between knowledge and power and motivation in a medical context, an academic context, and also in a colonial context. And the ways in which the act of studying is never really objective. One is always somehow involved with, affected by and affecting the object of study.

The novel effortlessly fleshes out a complicated and conflicted time in the history of the Middle East. With colonialism, Zionism, independence movements, and religious zealotry of all stripes all pulling at the region, the history is rendered here with an incredibly light touch. Is this history something you have studied formally?

At first I learned a lot by talking to people who remembered or knew things—mostly, old people and professional historians. Later on I backed this up with normal diligent historical research, in archives and reading history books and so on. I'm glad I did it this way round, because I think facts can stick better in the mind when someone tells you them directly, in their voice, than when you read them in type. Maybe it provokes the imagination in a different way. Also, there is quite a lot that has not been widely written about, details and anecdotes and rumours preserved by word of mouth, which proved equally as valuable to me as the big, public facts, if not sometimes more valuable.

Many Americans have a limited awareness of the history that shaped the region as we know it, and yet so many of the tensions at work in the early 20th century echo to the present day. What was the most important aspect you wanted to get across in the story?

I had different intentions at different times. The novel took five years, so my intentions at the beginning were very different from later on. But really the whole project was a project of learning for me, very much bound up in my own curiosity and desire to learn and above all to imagine what it would have been like to be Midhat.

Of course, there are things I've been told that people have learned from the book, which I'm glad about. What the Middle East looked like before the British and the French divided it up, for instance—that you could go directly to Damascus from Jerusalem, or take the train down to Cairo—these are things you might read in a history book or know abstractly but not really know know until you've devoted some time to imagining them. And I suppose that any stories about Palestinians before 1948 are testimonies of a kind to the actual existence of Palestinians, although of course this is not enough; one should not have to write novels about Palestinians to prove to the West that Palestinians are real people with real lives. However, as far as side effects go, if American readers take away the idea that Palestinians are real and have a history, then I suppose that's not a bad side effect.

More interesting to me than educating a reader about "what happened," however, was an idea I began to have about historical fiction as a way of imagining indeterminacy around moments of radical change. These are characters who really don't know what is going to happen to them. That made the act of writing, for me, an act of fabricating projections of possible futures onto the past. And I began to feel there might be a kind of dignity in reclaiming the past in this way, especially a past that is not well known in the West, and not assimilable into the dominant narratives of history's victors. But no study of the past can be purged of our knowledge of the present, and the project of writing about past indeterminacy must contend with the fact that we all know what happens in the end.

Are you concerned with the reception of the novel, with the entrenched opinions that exist around the current situation in the Middle East?

Palestinian stories are still not mainstream in the West, so I suppose that to tell a Palestinian story to an audience not already in the know is to stick your neck out. Sadly, writing about Palestinians in English is automatically a political act; if you are Palestinian, and say you are Palestinian, you are immediately a political being. That might make anyone feel a little anxious. But then, I think that is probably all the more reason to do it.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Isabella Hammad at BookBrowse
Enter Ghost jacket The Parisian jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Isabella Hammad but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Muhsin Al-Ramli

    Muhsin Al-Ramli

    Muhsin Al-Ramli is an expatriate Iraqi poet, playwright, short story writer, novelist, and the translator of several classics of Spanish literature. He is also the cofounder and editor of Alwah, a magazine of Arabic ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Parisian

    Try:
    The President's Gardens
    by Muhsin Al-Ramli

  • Rabih Alameddine

    Rabih Alameddine

    Rabih Alameddine is the author of the novels An Unnecessary Woman; I, the Divine; Koolaids; The Hakawati; The Wrong End of the Telescope; and the story collection, The Perv. In 2019, he won the Dos Passos Prize. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Parisian

    Try:
    The Hakawati
    by Rabih Alameddine

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.