Ali Land Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Ali Land
Photo: Laura Lewis

Ali Land

An interview with Ali Land

Ali Land discusses her debut novel, Good Me Bad Me, and explores how her work as a mental health nurse influenced her writing.

What motivated you to enter the mental health field?

I wanted to become a mental health nurse because I wanted to know about people, the way their minds work, and the 'why's' that result from individuals' experiences and, most importantly, I wanted to help. I specialized in children's mental health because it felt like the right fit for me. Being able to use stories and play and the therapeutic conversations I was able to have with the adolescents will never leave me.

How did those experiences lend themselves to writing Good Me Bad Me?

It was actually one conversation in particular that formed the basis of Good Me Bad Me. I was working with a teenage girl when she disclosed to me that her mother had been involved in the serious harm of young children and she no longer wanted to live because she was afraid of turning into her. The notion of living with a parental legacy of evil haunted me. The burden this girl, and other children I looked after, carried, was so apparent. Was this girl right? Can the apple ever fall far from the tree? How much choice do we have about who we become? I let those questions marinate for over eight years and when I couldn't hold them in any longer, the first draft of Good Me Bad Me was born. It tore out of me in five months.

How do you respond to readers who might struggle with such a dark subject matter?

First and foremost, this book is a thriller and I wanted to take readers on a psychological journey into the mind of a girl whose mother did horrible acts. I didn't want to include any gratuitous details and I don't dwell on what Milly's mother did because I wanted to motivate readers to join in on a conversation about youth mental health, nature/nurture, foster care, social media, bullying and many other issues. I worked exceptionally hard on Milly's voice, trying to create a powerful, immersive experience that sweeps up the reader and carries them through the book and ensures that the story is Milly's. I actually only name the mother once in the whole book but most people miss it because their focus is on Milly, as it should be. I believe powerful messages can be conveyed through fiction, oftentimes in equally powerful ways as nonfiction.

What sort of emotional challenges did you face in writing this book? Bringing Milly to life was a privilege but it definitely came at a cost. (I barely slept during the writing of my first draft.) Milly's voice was a powerful force to channel and required me to delve into the darkest parts of my imagination and spend prolonged periods of time in isolation. Initially, I found it hard to talk about the book without crying. I worried I might further isolate children like Milly by using the medium of a thriller to push the nature/nurture debate. I strived really hard to write Good Me Bad Me in a way that ensures it's thrilling enough so readers have to keep turning the pages, but moving enough so they want to discuss it afterwards.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Ali Land at BookBrowse
Good Me Bad Me jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Ali Land but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • A.F. Brady

    A.F. Brady

    A. F. Brady was born and raised a New Yorker. She works as a New York State Licensed Mental Health Counselor/Psychotherapist and has a Bachelor's degree in Psychology from Brown University and two Masters degrees in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Good Me Bad Me

    Try:
    The Blind
    by A.F. Brady

  • Paula Hawkins

    Paula Hawkins

    Paula Hawkins worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning her hand to fiction. She lives in London. The Girl on the Train is her first thriller. It is being published all over the world and has been optioned by ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Good Me Bad Me

    Try:
    The Girl on the Train
    by Paula Hawkins

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Lonely People
    All the Lonely People
    by Mike Gayle
    Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: Perish
    Perish
    by LaToya Watkins
    It's a commonly cited fact that many perpetrators of sexual abuse, particularly men, are victims of ...
  • Book Jacket: Afterlives
    Afterlives
    by Abdulrazak Gurnah
    Afterlives, from Nobel Prize winner Abdulrazak Gurnah, begins in late 19th century East Africa in ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Who Said...

Poetry is like fish: if it's fresh, it's good; if it's stale, it's bad; and if you're not certain, try it on the ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.