Tim O'Brien Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Tim O'Brien
Photo: Timmy O'Brien

Tim O'Brien

An interview with Tim O'Brien

Tim O'Brien discusses his comic-novel Tomcat in Love.

You said after finishing your last novel, In the Lake of the Woods, that you would never write another novel. What changed your mind?

I did not set out to write another novel. One day I sat down with the thought of trying my hand at a piece of nonfiction, a personal memoir of youth, but over the next several weeks, without intending it, the work began evolving into what has become Tomcat in Love. How this occurred I am not entirely sure. At one point, I began inventing bits of dialogue, straying from a strict representation of fact. At another point, after composing maybe fifteen pages, I called my editor to ask if I might exaggerate a few incidents and invent other incidents to strengthen the narrative and to fill in the gaps of a faulty memory. Finally, several weeks later, I surrendered to my own imagination and called my editor to confess that I was at work on a new novel.

The subject matter of this novel is serious: betrayal, the loss of love, revenge, and redemption. How did you manage to write a comic novel about the often painful obsession of love?

Yes, the raw materials of Tomcat in Love are serious in the extreme. And I consider Tomcat a "serious novel"--just as serious, for instance, as The Things They Carried or In the Lake of the Woods. Granted, the form of my novel is comedic. But at the same time that humor is rooted in the often painful realities of human experience. Witness the funny films of Woody Allen. Witness the funny scenes in Catch-22 and Catcher in the Rye. To call these works "unserious" is ridiculous. In any case, although Tomcat in Love is in one respect a departure for me--I wanted to write a funny book--it is no departure at all in the larger thematic sense. After all these years as a writer, I am still snagged by the same old obsessions: the things we do to win love, the things we will do to keep love, to love ourselves. The hero of the narrative says, "All for love. All to be loved." We can laugh at this, or we can cry. In this book, I wanted to laugh. Laughter does not deny pain. Laughter--like a wail--acknowledges and replies to pain.

So, was this book a conscious attempt at different subject matter and form?

I wanted to tackle new subject matter, to write a different kind of novel. The lightness of tone comes from the character I created. When I heard his voice in my head I just ran with it. Writing is a lot like dreaming, and I just went with it.

You're thought of as the authority on literature of the Vietnam War. What do you think your legion of fans will think of Tomcat in Love?

My real fans will love the book. There are so-called fans who are basically Vietnam junkies, but the people who appreciate the writing will like this. I think this is my best book and I hope they feel that way, too. If they don't, I'm in trouble.

What are you most proud of in Tomcat in Love?

I suppose I am most proud of the sustained voice of Tom Chippering. That imperious, equivocating, insensitive, self-justifying, long-winded, politically incorrect voice--the guy is still chattering in my dreams.

The narrator, Thomas Chippering, is every woman's nightmare. How do you think the book will be received by women?

Originally I thought it would make women very angry, but the response has been better from women than men. They realize it's funny. The book is making fun of the guy and guys like him. Every woman knows a Thomas Chippering. They're everywhere. There's a little Thomas Chippering in everyone, including women.

What makes him act the way that he does?

This is a guy who desperately needs to be loved. Everyone acts stupid at some time in order to be loved.

Who is the inspiration for him?

The inspiration for Tom Chippering? You.

First published in Bold Type 1998. Reproduced by permission of Random House publishing.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tim O'Brien at BookBrowse
Tomcat In Love jacket The Things They Carried jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tim O'Brien but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Janet Evanovich

    Janet Evanovich

    Janet Evanovich (born Janet Schneider, 1943, in South River, New Jersey) began her career writing short contemporary romance novels under the pen name Steffie Hall, but became a #1 New York Times bestselling author writing a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Tomcat In Love

    Try:
    Metro Girl
    by Janet Evanovich

  • Mike Lupica

    Mike Lupica

    Mike Lupica is one of the most prominent sports writers in America. His longevity at the top of his field is based on his experience and insider's knowledge, coupled with a provocative presentation that takes an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Tomcat In Love

    Try:
    Bump and Run
    by Mike Lupica

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: If I Survive You
    If I Survive You
    by Jonathan Escoffery
    In If I Survive You, author Jonathan Escoffery portrays a family falling apart with grace. Main ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...
  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...
  • Book Jacket: The Story of Russia
    The Story of Russia
    by Orlando Figes
    In The Story of Russia, British historian and writer Orlando Figes shares panoramic and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.