BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Martin Seay Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Martin Seay

Martin Seay

How to pronounce Martin Seay: say

An interview with Martin Seay

Martin Seay tells the story behing his debut novel, The Mirror Thief

In the spring of 2002, while living briefly in Washington, DC—where my then-girlfriend, now-spouse Kathleen Rooney was finishing her last year of college—I enrolled as a special student at Johns Hopkins to take a writing class called "Experimental Fiction."

It was a hell of a class. The instructor—Richard Peabody, a terrific writer and under-sung hero of indie publishing—had us turn in something like nine stories over the course of the semester, which exceeds the typical workload for such courses by about seven. Plus, the stories all had to be written to Richard's rather unpredictable prompts, so you couldn't just recycle your old material. (Unless, of course, your oeuvre already happened to include "a story in which all the dialogue is stolen from other works of fiction" or "a story in which you personally are a character, and which also features a character borrowed from an existing work of literature and a character borrowed from a cartoon," which it probably didn't.)

One night in March, Richard ended class with the assignment to write a story for the following week "in which someone tells a story in which someone tells a story." As I rode the Metro home, trying to figure out how best to go about doing that, I began to grow concerned that such a project might be tricky to pull off in only a week.

My first draft ended up taking me five and a half years and around seven hundred manuscript pages, but I'm getting ahead of myself.

In those days I was working as a bookseller at a national-chain store in Georgetown, and while shelving in the history section shortly after getting Richard's assignment, I came across a copy of The Mirror: A History by Sabine Melchior-Bonnet. Originally published in France in 1994, this was a new English translation (by Katharine H. Jewett) commissioned by Routledge—at least in part, one imagines, to take advantage of the sudden vogue for books recounting the histories of particular commodities that had been sparked by Mark Kurlansky's 1997 blockbuster Cod.

Those proliferating microhistories generally didn't grab me, but this one looked cool. I took a minute to read the jacket copy, which contained several compelling teasers, including a reference to "how the Venetian Republic employed a combination of both subtle intimidation and outright assassination to protect its mirror-making secrets." Huh, I thought. I knew a little bit about Venice—I had been mildly obsessed with it ever since spending a couple of misty Lenten backpacker days there a few years earlier: at the time and still today the strangest place I've ever been—but this business about mirror-making secrets and outright assassination was all new to me.

I set the book aside to buy later, and I returned to my duties. I shelved, and I thought, and I shelved, and I thought, and by the end of my shift I had pretty much worked out the rough outlines of what would become The Mirror Thief.

I had long wanted to write something about Venice, but had had no notion of how to begin: the topic was too big, too well-trodden. Now, thanks to Richard's assignment and the idea of the mirror, a path forward started to emerge. Melchior-Bonnet's book seemed to promise not only plot-level intrigue—I would soon learn that Venice held a near-monopoly on the manufacture of flat glass mirrors for a little under two hundred years, and employed ruthless countermeasures to fend off industrial espionage by foreign powers—but also a bunch of metaphors and motifs that might supply the project with a deeper structure.

A thing that struck me about Venice is the fact that people keep trying to build it again, in places far removed from the Adriatic Sea. These attempts to recreate the city—which suggested a weird and slippery tension between Venice as a place and Venice as an idea, or an image—seemed to rhyme in interesting ways with the notion of the mirror's reflective, duplicating surface. And the prospect of three nested stories seemed to call for three settings, separate enough in time to allow the characters in each to tell tales about the others.

Therefore I decided to write about Venice by writing about three Venices, in three eras and locations: 1) the original city-state, at a historical moment when its mirror-making industry was at its peak; 2) the Venice neighborhood of Los Angeles in the late 1950s, shortly before it became nationally famous as a hotbed of the Beat scene; and 3) the Venice-themed hotel and casino that currently sits at the elbow of the Las Vegas Strip.

When I hastily chose these settings, I was afraid that I wouldn't find enough connections between them to support a coherent narrative. I ended up with exactly the opposite problem: just about every impulse I pursued echoed with surprising resonances, and the story grew quite naturally, with characters and circumstances materializing to fill the spaces between them. At no point was it difficult to write. The only difficulty lay in finding the patience to give it enough time and space to play out its full hand.

Now—almost exactly fourteen years after I walked into Richard's next class with twenty-five pages of chaos ending with an apologetic note that read, in effect, "I think I'll probably keep working on this"—it's finally time to call this thing done.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Martin Seay at BookBrowse
The Mirror Thief jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Martin Seay but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Leigh Bardugo

    Leigh Bardugo

    Leigh Bardugo is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House and the creator of the Grishaverse (now a Netflix original series) which spans the Shadow and Bone trilogy, the Six of Crows duology, the King of Scars ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Mirror Thief

    Try:
    The Familiar
    by Leigh Bardugo

  • Gregory Blake Smith

    Gregory Blake Smith

    Gregory Blake Smith is the award-winning author of four novels, including The Maze at Windermere and The Divine Comedy of John Venner, a New York Times Notable Book. His short story collection, The Law of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Mirror Thief

    Try:
    The Maze at Windermere
    by Gregory Blake Smith

We recommend 11 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

The worst thing about reading new books...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.