Announcing our 2021 Award Winners and Top 20 Books of the Year

Eli Gottlieb Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Eli Gottlieb

Eli Gottlieb

How to pronounce Eli Gottlieb: GOT-leeb

An interview with Eli Gottlieb

Eli Gottleib discusses how a series of personal tragedies led him to search for a deeper understanding of his autistic sibling and thus inspired his novel Best Boy

Why did you write the book?

Over the course of writing my last novel, both my parents died, my marriage broke up and I became my brother's guardian. That kind of loss tends to focus the faculties pretty drastically, to paraphrase Samuel Johnson, and in this case it led me to concentrate hard on the one family member I had left. I've always been interested in liminal states, and things beyond the edge of obvious speech. Trying to "locate" an autistic perspective in language was one of those.

What's it like growing up the sibling of a child with autism? We tend to focus on parents and on the afflicted children themselves. But what about siblings?

To grow up the sibling of an autistic means to grow up partly invisible. The same is true of being the sibling of any child who's developmentally disabled. The mother and disabled child tend to bond deeply, and everyone else gets relegated to the suburbs of the family, emotionally. Resources and attention flow to the sick child and the pressure causes a high percentage of marriages to explode. As a sibling, it takes work to navigate your own resentment at those years spent living in the shadows.

In your first book you write about every parent's nightmare—relinquishing a son to an institution. Now we revisit that son forty years later. How's he doing?

He's made his peace, and has found a kind of working arrangement with the life and people around him. He misses his mother terribly and loves certain of his staff very much. This, by the way, is pretty close to the truth of my brother.

The book paints a fairly detailed picture of life in a therapeutic community. Is it accurate? What's life like in these places?

The setting and individuals in the book are the fruit of my many years spent visiting my brother in various institutions. They're composites, it's important to add, not portraits of individuals I've known. As for the life in these communities, it's hard to generalize. In the more successful ones, there's a deeply structured set of programs, sympathetic staff and not too much of a turnover in the day providers—those unsung heroes who tend to be paid too little and worked too hard. The best places give a real sense of community and allow people their dignity and a modicum of independence. But even in the best group homes and therapeutic communities, the turnover rate of staff remains appallingly high—to the detriment of the fragile folks who are in their care.

Are you saying that people are underserved on the back end? How big is this population and how could we best serve it?

I'm saying there's a structural crisis in adult autism today—a crisis that comes from the fact that an island nation currently exists of adults in their 50's, 60's and 70's, who are "classically" or severely autistic, institutionalized or living with their now very elderly parents, and about whom next to nothing is known. What are the long term effects of the malady? Does it develop or is it stable over time? And what about meds--are there long-term consequences to the use of these powerful drugs? We simply have no data to answer these questions. The second crisis is coming towards us from the near future, and has to do with the current "epidemic" of childhood autism. Five hundred thousand children with autism will become adults over the next ten years, and our current state funding and infrastructure deals with them as if they have the same maturational/developmental growth curves as neurotypical kids. Funding drops off sharply at age 21 on the presumption that they'll find jobs in the community and become independent. But most/many of them won't and will instead require extended supplemental care. This is a demographic and financial disaster waiting to happen.

Autism has gone from being something that was marginal and poorly understood during your childhood in the 1960's to being so culturally central that it's now a smash Broadway show. Is that a good thing?

Mostly, yes. But see my response above.

How much do you think the voice in this book represents an authentic autistic voice?

Classical severe autism is a black box. It repels language. It's like one of superdense stars that absorbs light. I had to try to plant language in that absence, and to do that I had to recall, as best I could, the sound of my brother's voice in my head, and then shape it for the purposes of narrative. It was a very slow, labor intensive process that saw me let go of a lot of my "literary" reflexes in the search for the broken clarity that lies at the heart of the autistic voice.

The "you" character in both books is less than a hero. Why did you do that? Was it hard to write?

Not to repeat myself, but I think I was trying to point at the resentment that grows in the siblings of children with autism, and which stamps them for life. In reality, I've been very attentive and caring towards my brother. But for literary purposes, I find nasty characters more interesting than wholesome ones—though there are always exceptions (like Todd himself, who I think of as extremely wholesome).

What would you like to say to readers of Best Boy?

I'd like to say that it's a novel and not a tract. I wanted to make a story out of a part of life that is almost entirely unknown and shed some light on that life. But my main purpose was to elevate, engage and move my readers. Let yourself be taken away, please. The policy arguments can come later!

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Eli Gottlieb at BookBrowse
Best Boy jacket The Face Thief jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Eli Gottlieb but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Paolo Giordano

    Paolo Giordano

    Paolo Giordano is the author of the critically acclaimed Like Family and The Human Body, and the international bestseller The Solitude of Prime Numbers, which has been translated into more than forty languages, as well as his... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Best Boy

    Try:
    The Solitude of Prime Numbers
    by Paolo Giordano

  • Matt Greene

    Matt Greene

    Matt Greene was born in Watford, England, in 1985 and studied English at the University of Sussex, where he edited The Badger newspaper. He is the co-author of four plays, including the Edinburgh Fringe sellout farce The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Best Boy

    Try:
    Ostrich
    by Matt Greene

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: The Lincoln Highway
    The Lincoln Highway
    by Amor Towles
    Voted 2021 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Things look bleak for Emmett ...
  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    Voted 2021 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    What makes humans human? It's ...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Million Things
    by Emily Spurr
    Voted 2021 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Our First Impressions reviewers were...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    True Crime Story
    by Joseph Knox

    The #1 international bestselling novel. What happens to all the girls who go missing?

Win This Book!
Win Taste Makers

Taste Makers
by Mayukh Sen

America's modern culinary history told through the lives of seven pathbreaking chefs and food writers.

Enter

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.