Paul Fischer Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Paul Fischer

Paul Fischer

An interview with Paul Fischer

Paul Fischer discusses the background to his debut book - A Kim Jong-Il Production, and how the events in the book still resonate today in North Korea.

How did the almost unbelievable story of Shin and Choi's abduction first come to your attention?
I'd read about the bare bones of the story - "Kim Jong-Il is such a film nerd he once kidnapped his favorite filmmaker" - here and there, and always thought it would be a good concept for a play: dictator has hugely successful filmmaker brought to him, they both debate power and creation and so on. When I finally looked into it in more detail I found there was so much more to the story.

Why did Kim Jong-Il coordinate their kidnapping?
It was warped but simple logic: A) Our filmmakers aren't good enough, B) We can't send them abroad and no one will come here voluntarily, so C) I must force someone who's good enough to come here.

What sort of research were you able to do? Did you go to North Korea? I did, for a week or so, and to all the places the story takes place. I stayed in Shin and Choi's hotel room in Vienna and went to the studio they worked in for Kim. I tracked down their North Korean and South Korean films and read everything I could find – in English, Japanese, Korean – and interviewed any defectors who had any information.

Did Shin and Choi's time filmmaking there have a lasting effect on North Korean cinema?
More on society than the cinema, I think. Their films looked likely to revolutionize North Korean filmmaking in the long-term, but then they escaped and Kim Jong-Il went back to the safe, highly propagandistic material he had been making before. But short eight year window the people saw films that opened up a larger world for them, saw footage of the outside, saw stories different from the strict Party line; and that made them hungry for more.

What was the most surprising thing you found in your research?
I found Kim Jong-Il fascinating. It's hard for me to remember now that my image of him used to be the Team America, "Kim Jong-Il Looking At Things" pop culture caricature. I never expected the complicated, dangerous, Tony Soprano-meets-Sammy Glick figure I found.

North Korea seems to be in the news constantly these days. How does this story fit into the larger narrative of the country's history?
It's a stage. That's what we most forget about North Korea: it's a human tragedy on a national scale, concealed inside a performance of national unity and Cold War belligerence as complex and layered as any movie or Broadway show. A Kim Jong-Il Production is the story of how Kim Jong-Il created the illusion that still – flimsily – holds the country together today.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.