Paul Fischer Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Paul Fischer

Paul Fischer

An interview with Paul Fischer

Paul Fischer discusses the background to his debut book - A Kim Jong-Il Production, and how the events in the book still resonate today in North Korea.

How did the almost unbelievable story of Shin and Choi's abduction first come to your attention?
I'd read about the bare bones of the story - "Kim Jong-Il is such a film nerd he once kidnapped his favorite filmmaker" - here and there, and always thought it would be a good concept for a play: dictator has hugely successful filmmaker brought to him, they both debate power and creation and so on. When I finally looked into it in more detail I found there was so much more to the story.

Why did Kim Jong-Il coordinate their kidnapping?
It was warped but simple logic: A) Our filmmakers aren't good enough, B) We can't send them abroad and no one will come here voluntarily, so C) I must force someone who's good enough to come here.

What sort of research were you able to do? Did you go to North Korea? I did, for a week or so, and to all the places the story takes place. I stayed in Shin and Choi's hotel room in Vienna and went to the studio they worked in for Kim. I tracked down their North Korean and South Korean films and read everything I could find – in English, Japanese, Korean – and interviewed any defectors who had any information.

Did Shin and Choi's time filmmaking there have a lasting effect on North Korean cinema?
More on society than the cinema, I think. Their films looked likely to revolutionize North Korean filmmaking in the long-term, but then they escaped and Kim Jong-Il went back to the safe, highly propagandistic material he had been making before. But short eight year window the people saw films that opened up a larger world for them, saw footage of the outside, saw stories different from the strict Party line; and that made them hungry for more.

What was the most surprising thing you found in your research?
I found Kim Jong-Il fascinating. It's hard for me to remember now that my image of him used to be the Team America, "Kim Jong-Il Looking At Things" pop culture caricature. I never expected the complicated, dangerous, Tony Soprano-meets-Sammy Glick figure I found.

North Korea seems to be in the news constantly these days. How does this story fit into the larger narrative of the country's history?
It's a stage. That's what we most forget about North Korea: it's a human tragedy on a national scale, concealed inside a performance of national unity and Cold War belligerence as complex and layered as any movie or Broadway show. A Kim Jong-Il Production is the story of how Kim Jong-Il created the illusion that still – flimsily – holds the country together today.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.