We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Rainbow Rowell Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Rainbow Rowell
Photo: Augusten Burroughs

Rainbow Rowell

An interview with Rainbow Rowell

Author Rainbow Rowell discusses first love and whether any of the characters in Eleanor & Park are based on her.

  • What inspired you to write a misfits-in-love story like Eleanor & Park
    I have always, always wanted to write a first love story. I feel like, when you're 16, you have the greatest-ever capacity for romantic love. You fall in love with every cell of your body. But, at the same time, at that age, you have so little to offer the person you love. You don't belong to yourself quite yet—you still have school and your parents, you don't even have your own space…And you also know that what you're feeling probably won't last. First love usually doesn't. There's a built-in tragedy to falling (truly) in love when you're 16. It's like every 16-year-old in love is either Romeo or Juliet. That is what I wanted to write about.

  • Do you see yourself in any of the characters?
    Ha! I see myself in all the characters! I think I was a lot like Eleanor when I was in high school. I was cynical about love and romance - and the future. But I was never as tough or as hard as she is. I was never that cool. And I identify with Park, too - that feeling Park has that he can't afford to draw attention to himself. I remember feeling like that.

  • Eleanor & Park covers a lot of ground, from difficult family situations to the way music can open up a new world. But most of all, it's about first love. Is that what you set out to write about?
    My motivation was to make people actually feel love, to give them a realistic view of it. If they're young and never been in love, for them to know – yes, this how it feels. And if they're older and they have, to feel it as a sense memory.

  • You seem to incorporate a lot of experimenting with different settings time-wise in your writing. Was it important to you that Eleanor & Park be set in the '80s and [your first novel, aimed at older readers] Attachments be set in 1999? How so?
    Attachments had to be set in 1999 because it's about an IT guy who falls in love with a girl while he's monitoring her office email—and I needed the characters to be naive about email and Internet privacy.

    With Eleanor & Park, I wanted to capture that time in the mid-'80s when alternative music and comic books were finally seeping into Middle America. That feeling—it was almost foreboding—that INTERESTING THINGS were happening out there.

  • Eleanor & Park is a book driven by music. Does your writing process include listening to songs, and did you choose any particular types of music while working on it?
    Yes! I always build character playlists while I'm writing. It's like a game I play with myself when I'm sitting alone with the manuscript for hours. Sometimes I use a specific song to help keep me inside a scene, even if it takes a few days or weeks to write it. The song becomes an emotional anchor for me. With Eleanor & Park, I listened to a lot of '80s music—some of that early alternative music that was so exciting to me at the time. But I also listened to a lot of music that just felt like the characters. For Eleanor, that was The Sunset Tree by the Mountain Goats. Also, lots of Modest Mouse. For Park, it was The Cure and The Cure and The Cure. (Robert Smith is definitely Park's patronus.) Also lots of open- hearted, melodic British music. The Magic Numbers and Badly Drawn Boy.

  • The other pop culture element that Park and Eleanor share is comics, which is interesting, because comics are often understood to be something that appeals more to boys.
    I was turned on to comics by a boy who lived near me and who would read them on the bus, like Park. My dad was a fan, but he was saving his old comics for my brothers. But I loved the X-Men and also a more alternative comic called Marshal Law for the way they challenged the existing world. As soon as I had any money of my own, I bought comics.

  • But Eleanor has a critique as well: she's aware that the female superheroes, despite their powers, are more passive than their male counterparts.
    Absolutely. When I read them I was aware of all the women drawn as pinups, and I was conscious that they were created by men for boys. That's changing now, I think, but I had that critique all ready for Eleanor.

  • The jacket copy says: "Two misfits: One extraordinary love." Do you see Park as a misfit?
    He is in terms of the music that he listens to, so he's a misfit in that John Hughes movie way. Eleanor, though, is "other" in another way: she's a person who can't be invisible.

  • Give us a quick summary of how your own experiences at first love played out.
    I didn't have anything in high school as dramatic as what Eleanor and Park have. I did have a high school boyfriend whom I liked a lot—and who was pretty romantic, especially in retrospect. (We went to lots of indie movies and laser light shows.) But my dramatic love story is with my husband. We met in the seventh grade and were close friends all through junior high, high school and college. When we finally confessed our feelings for each other, it made everything that had come before seem like one long build-up. Like we'd been dancing around each other for eight years.

  • Can you tell us something about what are you writing right now?
    Sure! I'm working on another adult book, sort of a romantic comedy like my first book, Attachments. And I have another young adult book coming out in the U.S. this year -- it's called Fangirl, and it's a coming-of-age story about fan fiction, family and first love.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Rainbow Rowell at BookBrowse
Carry On jacket Landline jacket Fangirl jacket Eleanor & Park jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Rainbow Rowell but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Sherman Alexie

    Sherman Alexie

    Sherman J. Alexie, Jr., was born in October 1966. A Spokane/Coeur d'Alene Indian, he grew up on the Spokane Indian Reservation in Wellpinit, Washington, about 50 miles northwest of Spokane. Approximately 1,100 Spokane Tribal ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fangirl

    Try:
    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
    by Sherman Alexie

  • Cris Beam

    Cris Beam

    Cris Beam is the author of Transparent and has written for public radio's This American Life, as well as for several national magazines. She has an MFA in writing from Columbia and teaches creative writing at Columbia, NYU, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fangirl

    Try:
    I Am J
    by Cris Beam

We recommend 22 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.