Jonathan Odell Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Jonathan Odell
Photo: Jim Kuether

Jonathan Odell

How to pronounce Jonathan Odell: oh-DELL

An interview with Jonathan Odell

Jonathan Odell, author of The Healing, set in the pre-Civil War South, interviews retired midwife Mrs Willie Turner of Midnight, Mississippi, who was 91-years-old at the time of the interview in 2002.

Jonathan Odell writes, "In 2002, I had the honor of sitting down with Mrs. Willie Turner of Midnight, Mississippi, a retired midwife. At the time, she was 91 years old and eager to talk about the profession she loved and felt she was called by God to do. The questions I asked are the following:"

PART 1

  1. How many children did you help birth? 0.16
  2. How busy did you stay? 1:00
  3. Did some mothers get scared? What did you do to calm them? 4:25
  4. How did you get around to your patients? 5:44
  5. Did any of the women fight you? 10:09
  6. How did you raise a family and be a midwife? 10:42
  7. What were the homes like? 12:54



PART 2

  1. When did you decide you wanted to be a midwife?
  2. How did you learn?
  3. Tell me about a typical delivery.
  4. What were some of the most difficult deliveries?
  5. Were some babies born not breathing? What did you do?

Most of the photos are of ex-slaves, midwives and sharecroppers taken in the 1930's by artists working for the WPA, archived in the Library of Congress. This video was developed by James Kuether and Random House.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jonathan Odell at BookBrowse
The Healing jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jonathan Odell but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Author Image Not Available

    Hannah Crafts

    Hannah Crafts lived in the mid 1850s and is believed to be a runaway slave from N. Carolina. This recently discovered manuscript, "The Bondwoman's Narrative," is believed to be the first novel written by a female ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Healing

    Try:
    The Bondwoman's Narrative
    by Hannah Crafts

  • Henry Louis Gates

    Henry Louis Gates

    Henry Louis Gates, Jr., is the Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director of the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University. An award-winning filmmaker, literary scholar, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Healing

    Try:
    The Bondwoman's Narrative
    by Henry Louis Gates

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Lonely People
    All the Lonely People
    by Mike Gayle
    Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: Perish
    Perish
    by LaToya Watkins
    It's a commonly cited fact that many perpetrators of sexual abuse, particularly men, are victims of ...
  • Book Jacket: Afterlives
    Afterlives
    by Abdulrazak Gurnah
    Afterlives, from Nobel Prize winner Abdulrazak Gurnah, begins in late 19th century East Africa in ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Who Said...

In war there are no unwounded soldiers

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.