Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Mark Seal Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Mark Seal
Photo: Guillaume Bonn

Mark Seal

An interview with Mark Seal

Mark Seal gives his thoughts on the con-artist Christian Karl Gerhartstreiter (aka Clark Rockefeller) and discusses his book The Man in the Rockefeller Suit.

What drew you to Christian Karl Gerhartsreiter's story? After writing this book, what image of the man did you walk away with? Do you believe his plea of insanity? Do you think he believes it?
I first heard about Clark Rockefeller from a friend who had gone on a lunch date with him in New York. "Mark, did you hear about Clark Rockefeller!?" she screamed over the phone. I hadn't, but as soon as I began following his trail, I knew I was onto a whale of a story. After writing the book, I walked away with the feeling that the man will do whatever it takes to move ahead in life. As for the insanity defense, I agree with the jury in his kidnapping trial, which seemed to reject his plea of insanity by finding him guilty on most counts.

Your research for the book involved conducting nearly 200 interviews, in addition to scouring court transcripts and official documents. What did you expect to learn when you undertook this project? Were you surprised by any of your discoveries?
I try not to have preconceptions when following a story. In the case of Clark Rockefeller, I was constantly surprised and astounded. Every person I met had some new twist on the guy, and every time I thought the story was done, some new development, person, or lead would send me scurrying back to the beat.

What were some of the recurring sentiments you heard expressed about Gerhartsreiter in the interviews you conducted? What did they tell you about your subject?
That he was smart, engaging, affable, and absolutely the best liar they had ever met (although when they knew him they didn't realize he was lying).

Many were fooled by Gerhartsreiter and the complex, varied identities he invented. How do you think he achieved this? Do you think he ever wanted to be caught?
I think he's incredibly smart and well-read (he spent his time in libraries across the country, since he rarely worked) and felt he would never be caught. And he would most likely still be living a leisurely life as the bon vivant Clark Rockefeller if he hadn't kidnapped his daughter off the street in Boston.

Throughout the course of writing this book, how did you find your impression of Gerhartsreiter shifting? Did you at any point in time empathize with him?
I was amazed at his audacity and admired his choice of friends - all of whom I had a wonderful time meeting. I can't say I felt empathy for him - except maybe when I met the folks of his hometown of Bergen, Germany. I could understand his need to escape that small town for the wonderland of America and the opportunites our good but gullible country threw at his feet.

If you could interview Gerhartsreiter, what questions would you most like to ask him?
When did you first get the idea to live a life of lies?

How did you feel when people so readily believed the increasingly outlandish lies you told them?

What was your relationship with your San Marino, California, landlady Didi Sohus? Give us some anecdotes of your time together.

What do you think (or know) really happened to John and Linda Sohus, the couple who went missing when you lived with them in San Marino? (Rockefeller is charged with the murder of John Sohus.)

Why do you think Linda Sohus, or the body of Linda Sohus, has never been found?

What were your thoughts and motivations while romancing, marrying and duping your wife of twelve years, who believed you were a Rockefeller?

Where did you get your supposedly billion–dollar collection of modern art?

The list could go on and on...

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mark Seal at BookBrowse
The Man in the Rockefeller Suit jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Mark Seal but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 13 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.