Sharon M. Draper Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Sharon M. Draper

Sharon M. Draper

How to pronounce Sharon M. Draper: Last name rhymes with paper

An interview with Sharon M. Draper

Sharon Draper, two-time Coretta Scott King Award-winning author, talks about herself and her thoughts on books and writing.

Revealing Questions

How would you describe your life in only 8 words?
learner teacher wife mom grammy writer encourager inspirer

What is your motto or maxim?
I learned to dream through reading, learned to create dreams through writing, and learned to develop dreamers through teaching. I shall always be a dreamer. Come dream with me.

How would you describe perfect happiness?
Perfect happiness is a beautiful sunset, the giggle of a grandchild, the first snowfall. It's the little things that make happy moments, not the grand events. Joy comes in sips, not gulps.

What's your greatest fear?
Water. Deep water. I can't swim. Yet I love the beach. I like to LOOK at the water, not get in it!

If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?
At home.

With whom in history do you most identify?
I'm not sure if identify is the right word, but I have a great deal of respect for Zora Neale Hurston whose writing is brilliant and whose path was difficult.

Which living person do you most admire?
My parents. And Barack Obama.

What are your most overused words or phrases?
Actually, I use actually too much.

What do you regret most?
I let my kids watch too much television when they were little.

If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?
I'd love to dance with grace and style, to move as easily as I write.

What is your greatest achievement?
I'm still working on that. Every day is a new opportunity to reach another goal.

What's your greatest flaw?
I'm very picky and often impatient.

What's your best quality?
I believe in hope and possibility. I'm a powerfully positive person.

If you could be any person or thing, who or what would it be?
I'd like to be able to fly like a bird and swim like a fish, but I wouldn't want to BE either one of those.

What trait is most noticeable about you?
I smile often. I like people. I'm friendly.

Who is your favorite fictional hero?
Beowulf. What a man!

If you could meet any historical character, who would it be and what would you say to him or her?
I'd like to sit down and have a conversation with women like Mary McLeod Bethune and Sojourner Truth and Harriet Tubman--women who fought for civil rights and women's rights. I like to thank their for their courage and leadership and they them know they made a difference.

What is your biggest pet peeve?
People who don't think before they speak or act really annoy me. Rude people. Mean people.

What is your favorite occupation, when you're not writing?
I'm addicted to several word games on my iphone. I play them for hours, sometimes when I'm supposed to be sleeping, or even writing!

What's your fantasy profession?
I want to be Oprah. I'd be great as a talk show personality.

What 3 personal qualities are most important to you?
Honesty. Positive rather than negative attitude. Genuine, not fake. I appreciate smiles and hugs.

If you could eat only one thing for the rest of your days, what would it be?
Chicken. Many chickens have already given their lives for me.

What are your 5 favorite songs?
What a wonderful World sung by Louis Armstrong. The Rainbow Connection sung by Kermit the Frog. Sunshine on my Shoulders sung by John Denver. Bumpin by Wes Montgomery. Brown Baby sung by Oscar Brown, Jr. Lots of others.

On Books and Writing

Who are your favorite authors?
Any writer who can make a word sound as sweet as syrup or a brittle as glass. I like Diane McKinney-Whetstone and Alice Hoffman. I like Toni Morrison, but she requires thoughtful concentration. Geraldine Brooks is amazing.

What are your 5 favorite books of all time?
Since I've read thousands of books, that's hard to answer. Two from childhood: Caddie Woodlawn by Brink. Behold your Queen by Gladys Malvern. In college I loved The Stand by Stephen King. Best Biography? Wrapped in Rainbows by Valerie Boyd. Best book I've read recently? The Secret Life of Bees by Sure Monk Kidd.

Is there a book you love to reread?
No. There are too many unread books out there. I'm always thirsty for new ones.

Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
Read a thousand books, and write every single day.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sharon M. Draper at BookBrowse
Panic jacket Out of My Mind jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sharon M. Draper but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Gennifer Choldenko

    Gennifer Choldenko

    Gennifer Choldenko's first novel, Notes from a Liar and Her Dog, was a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year and a California Book Award winner. Her second novel, Al Capone Does My Shirts, was a Newbery Honor Book and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Out of My Mind

    Try:
    If a Tree Falls at Lunch Period
    by Gennifer Choldenko

  • Peter Dickinson

    Peter Dickinson

    Peter Dickinson, born in 1927, has written more than fifty novels for adults and young readers; and has won both the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Award twice.

    He is a tall, elderly, bony, beaky, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Out of My Mind

    Try:
    Inside Grandad
    by Peter Dickinson

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.