Dexter Palmer Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Dexter Palmer
Photo: Bill Wadman

Dexter Palmer

An interview with Dexter Palmer

Dexter Palmer talks about writing The Dream of Perpetual Motion, a stunningly imagined, and wickedly funny meditation on the place of love in a world dominated by technology.

Dexter Palmer on writing The Dream of Perpetual Motion

I began writing the work that eventually became The Dream of Perpetual Motion in 1996. Basically, it was a means of procrastination, since it allowed me to write something instead of the papers for the courses I was taking in graduate school. Fittingly, the book that inspired it was one that was sitting in the library stacks next to some other forgotten book that I should have been reading as research for a paper (which was to have been on H. G. Wells’ novel Tono-Bungay). That book was called Futuredays, and it contained a reproduction of illustrations for a series of cigarette cards drawn by the artist Jean-Marc Côtéin 1900 that purported to show what life would be like in the year 2000.

What was interesting to me from my perspective, just on the edge of the millennium that these images claimed to predict with tongue in cheek, wasn’t so much the renderings of alternate forms of transportation that took up most of the collection, but the manner in which some things that apparently seemed fantastic to Côté came off as mundane to me, such as the idea of receiving the news through an audio recording. (On the other hand, there were other instances where Côté wildly missed the mark, even if he was making a joke—for example, an image that depicts a group of people warming themselves at a fireplace that holds not a pile of burning logs, but what appears to be a large chunk of radium).

Côté’s reverent portrayal of now-mundane communication methods seemed to me to relate to some of the academic work I was interested in, work that concerned the place where meaning sits between a text and its reader--that is, whether an author imbues a text with a meaning during the composition process that it is the reader’s job to unearth, or whether a text created by an author is essentially inert and only acquires meaning when a reader looks upon it, or whether the truth is something in the middle. Moreover, I was interested in whether the answer to that question changed depending on whether the text was mechanically reproduced (a printed pamphlet instead of a handwritten letter, for example) or, as is increasingly the case in our world, the text was initially authored by a computer (as every list of Google search results arguably is).

Writing this novel allowed me the pleasure of storytelling while also letting me figure out what these ideas had to do with each other. Initially I’d intended its setting to be that of the fanciful world predicted by these cards, but as the novel progressed I was influenced by other works—silent science-fiction films such as Metropolis and Woman in the Moon; psychiatric manuals from the 1850s; black-and-white Disney cartoons; music videos directed by Mark Romanek. Eventually, the book also began to involve other related concepts that my mind was on, until it began to coalesce into a coherent whole through the process of revision and deletion. Two full top-to-bottom rewrites (the first draft was entirely handwritten) got it into a shape that was good enough for me to be willing to show it to someone else; then began the process of submission to agents and editors that eventually led to its publication.

Most of the initial composition of this novel happened before steampunk became the trend it is now. When I first came across the concept of steampunk, it was as an oddball outgrowth of what was then the far more popular genre of cyberpunk, and its definition was very narrow—I think I’ve read exactly one novel that fits that original earlier definition, The Difference Engine by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling. But in the meantime the term has come to encompass not just science-fiction stories set in a meticulously re-imagined Victorian era—retro-futuristic works that aren’t remotely Victorian (such as the film Brazil) are now considered steampunk, while works of science fiction that were actually written during the Victorian period (such as the novels of Jules Verne) have also been retroactively grandfathered in.

And so though this work wouldn’t have been considered steampunk back when I was writing it, it seems to be steampunk now. To me, this speaks less to the dilution of what steampunk is defined as—after all, the newest words are the ones most apt to change their meanings over time—than to the continuing blurring of the boundaries between all genres and categories of literature. My favorite books tend to be those that pull from a number of different genres, or that aren’t interested in ultimately meaningless distinctions between high and low culture. So, in short, I’ve written the kind of novel I like to read, in the hope that others will enjoy it as well.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dexter Palmer at BookBrowse
Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen jacket Version Control jacket The Dream of Perpetual Motion jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dexter Palmer but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Dream of Perpetual Motion

    Try:
    Hag-Seed
    by Margaret Atwood

  • Clare Beams

    Clare Beams

    Clare Beams is the author of the story collection We Show What We Have Learned, which won the Bard Prize and was a Kirkus Best Debut of 2016, as well as a finalist for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, the New York Public ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen

    Try:
    The Illness Lesson
    by Clare Beams

We recommend 17 similar authors

View all 17 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...
  • Book Jacket: The Story of Russia
    The Story of Russia
    by Orlando Figes
    In The Story of Russia, British historian and writer Orlando Figes shares panoramic and ...
  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Lonely People
    All the Lonely People
    by Mike Gayle
    Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.