Anna Lawrence Pietroni Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Anna Lawrence Pietroni
Photo: Tom Weller

Anna Lawrence Pietroni

An interview with Anna Lawrence Pietroni

Anna Lawrence Pietroni, author of Ruby's Spoon, talks about writing, prison, and embracing her roots.

Anna Lawrence Pietroni in her own words about writing, prison, and embracing her roots:

I’ve felt compelled to write since I could hold a pencil, but always stalled after a paragraph or two. Drawn to the symbols and structure of fairy tale, I stubbornly rejected the advice given to all aspiring writers: ‘write what you know’. I didn’t want to write what I knew. I didn’t even like the things I knew. I lived on the edge of the heavily industrial Black Country in the English Midlands, where my family has lived for generations. I’d had a defensive pride in my town, Halesowen - we had a Norman church, two Tudor black-and-whites, Industrial Heritage - but when I won a place at an exclusive high school in the city, this pride I’d taken in my roots soon evaporated and I would never, I was certain, write about my town. By the time I went to Oxford, I was all too glad to leave it far behind.

I studied English Literature at University College, Oxford, and was delighted and intimidated in equal measure by the literary endeavors of my predecessors. I had rooms beside the Percy Bysshe Shelley Memorial: a languid, drowned figure carved in marble. Compared with the works of genius on the reading list, anything I wrote was clumsy and overwrought. I submitted poetry to a competition judged by Seamus Heaney. I wasn’t placed, but I was given an ‘honorable mention’ and that ‘mention’ sustained and tormented me. After college, I tried to write again, but still struggled to get past the first few lines. I took temping jobs in London, hoping that they would leave me time and energy to write, but I found myself sketching little circles for each hour in the day and shading in the minutes as they passed. Eventually I abandoned the whole notion of becoming a writer and, in a grand non-sequitur, became a trainee prison warden at Holloway instead.

I was not a good prison guard and left my training program well before it ended. I wanted to sit and listen to the prisoners, to the exclusion of all the other crucial tasks that will, if done well, make time spent ‘inside’ more productive and purposeful. But if I hadn’t been a prison guard I might not have finally begun to write. I took time away from my training to be with my new baby and, desperate for some time to myself, I wrote while he slept. The novel grew out of a writing exercise that I kept working on; persistent doodling. A cast of characters emerged and needed somewhere more concrete to live than the folk-tale landscapes I was used to sketching out. I decided, with reluctance, to go back home. I revisited the topography of Halesowen (steep hills; clay) and stole elements of the Black Country towns where my family lived: I read local histories and asked my grandad about chain-striking and chip shops; I rerouted canals and drew new maps; I took photos up in the Clent Hills. The town that emerged - Cradle Cross, 1933 - can’t be mapped onto Halesowen, but it’s a close relation.

I didn’t consciously set out to write about imprisonment, but Ruby’s Spoon is a novel about incarceration and the quest for freedom, both emotional and physical. Ruby, the young protagonist, is constrained at the most literal level by the geography of Cradle Cross – it’s surrounded by canals, and while Ruby longs to get to sea, she’s forbidden to go near water. This containment is, as Ruby comes to learn, primarily psychological, but she may learn this lesson at her cost: this is a closed community that discourages escape, and although its inhabitants are free to leave, they live heavily circumscribed lives. (Only Truda Cole Blick comes and goes, but even she finds herself tied to Cradle Cross.) They are hostile to outsiders, and suspicious of authority, as Miss Blick and Isa Fly discover. Rumor and supposition leads to violent acts of retribution. There are hierarchies; unwritten rules – you don’t go into Blickses, you don’t cross Dinah Hatchett Harper… I didn’t think I’d write about my time working in prison. But it appears that, unintentionally, I have.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anna Lawrence Pietroni at BookBrowse
Ruby's Spoon jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anna Lawrence Pietroni but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tiffany Baker

    Tiffany Baker

    Tiffany Baker’s Recipe For A Writing Life

    A handful of islands: Belvedere , Aquidneck, Balboa, Manhattan, Corsica, Maui, the UK
    Three small children: Two girls and a boy, plump in the cheeks and knees. Strong-willed ...

    (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Ruby's Spoon

    Try:
    The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
    by Tiffany Baker

  • Susanna Clarke

    Susanna Clarke

    Susanna Mary Clarke (born 1 November 1959) is an English author best known for her debut novel Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (2004), a Hugo Award-winning alternative history. Clarke began Jonathan Strange in 1993 and worked ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Ruby's Spoon

    Try:
    Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
    by Susanna Clarke

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Let's Not Do That Again
    Let's Not Do That Again
    by Grant Ginder
    We have all dealt with inescapable, insufferable family members at some point, and the ones who say ...
  • Book Jacket: Atomic Anna
    Atomic Anna
    by Rachel Barenbaum
    If you had the opportunity to prevent one of the world's most horrific disasters, would you? What if...
  • Book Jacket: The Colony
    The Colony
    by Audrey Magee
    The Colony opens with Mr Lloyd, a London artist, being transported to a Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) ...
  • Book Jacket: The Return of Faraz Ali
    The Return of Faraz Ali
    by Aamina Ahmad
    In Aamina Ahmad's debut, The Return of Faraz Ali, the eponymous character is a police inspector in ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Book Woman's Daughter
by Kim Michele Richardson
A mesmerizing and beautifully rendered tale of strong women, bravery, and resilience.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Immortal King Rao
    by Vauhini Vara

    A resonant debut novel obliterating the boundaries between literary and speculative fiction, the historic and the dystopian.

  • Book Jacket

    Fly Girl
    by Ann Hood

    "Sheer pleasure. A hilarious and often moving look back at...a young woman's coming of age."
    —Dennis Lehane

Who Said...

Poetry is like fish: if it's fresh, it's good; if it's stale, it's bad; and if you're not certain, try it on the ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T S's T Limit

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.