Sadie Jones Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Sadie Jones
Photo by Charles Hopkinson

Sadie Jones

An interview with Sadie Jones

Sadie Jones discusses her first novel, The Outcast

You've had a fifteen year career as a screenwriter, did you find writing for the page a very different experience to writing for the screen?

When I began the book I thought that the process would be very different, but many of the decisions and aims are the same: what is left out and what is left in, and trying to tell a story so that it lives.


The Outcast is set in the 1950s, what made you choose this era as a background for the book?

The decision to put the story in the 1950s was one of the earliest ones, along with who Lewis was, and where it would be set. I needed to isolate Lewis entirely—1950s Surrey seemed the obvious place to do it. Also, I have always loved the fifties, and the films and books of that period.


Lewis is a very troubled yet charismatic young man, do you think you would like him if you met him in real life?

That's a very hard question to answer, because I don't see Lewis from the outside, so imagining meeting him is odd! I think I would like him, though, if he wasn't in one of his entirely silent moods.


Some of the scenes in the book, particularly those between Gilbert and Lewis are very poignant, did you find these upsetting to write?

I found a lot of the book upsetting to write, but writers are also fairly ruthless about what they put their characters through.


Psychology and human behavior are very central themes to the book, is this an area that you've always been interested in?

I think if you write about human relationships you're always exploring the psyche and the soul. I don't separate certain perhaps more extreme—things that people do from others.


Alcohol is at the heart of the novel and the root cause or effect of many of the problems that are raised in it, is this an issue that you purposefully set out to raise?

Again, I never thought in terms of issues, but yes, alcohol is in many ways one of the the main characters in story. Drinking, like ways of expressing love, or violence, is passed down through families.


You capture the voices and concerns of children, especially in the voice of young Kit, extremely well, did you conjure them from your own childhood experiences or from watching your children?

I think that we are all much closer to our childhood selves than we often think, so when we read about childhood it can surprise us how immediate or moving it is, when perhaps those feelings are just there, waiting to be accessed all the time. Also, I loved Kit, and felt very close to her. I don't consciously use my own life or experience at all.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.