Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

David Almond Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

David Almond

David Almond

An interview with David Almond

David Almond explains his impetus for writing My Dad's a Birdman; and the truth behind the fiction of his 2015 novel, The Tightrope Walkers

Dear Reader

The Tightrope Walkers has lots of connections with my own life. I lived in a house rather like Dom's when I was a boy. My own father fought in Burma during World War II, just like Dom's. Miss Fagan, Dom's first teacher, is based on my own first teacher. I remember her kindness, and the beautiful way she shaped letters and words with chalk on the blackboard.

I knew many people who worked in the shipyards that lined the banks of the river Tyne in the '60s and '70s. I worked in a shipyard myself for a couple of summers when I was a student. I cleaned tanks, just like Dom, and it was one of the most terrifying experiences of my life. We had a tramp in our town, rather like Jack Law, and he was a romantic figure to me, living his life of nonmaterialistic freedom in the hills above town. The bookshop, Ultima Thule, was a real place, and Ginsberg and Ferlinghetti really did visit and read. And I partied on the beautiful Northumbrian beaches, and listened to Joni Mitchell, and grew my hair, and dreamed of California and love and peace.

The book is fiction, of course: a merging of memory and imagination, truth and lies. I never knew a boy quite like Vincent McAlinden, but he does have similarities to some real people, and of course to elements of my growing self. I never knew a Holly Stroud, but again, she has elements of girls that I admired and maybe loved.

The book was often very difficult to write. Sometimes the words came fast and true. At other times, making the book was like making a ship, putting it together rivet by rivet, weld by weld. As I wrote, I entered the world of the '60s and '70s, and felt the harshness of the shipyard world, its toughness and strange beauty. I felt the joy of partying by the cold North Sea with people I loved. At times I felt like a teenager again, yearning for life and freedom, learning about myself, about books, about language, about the weird connections between hate and love, violence and peace. I grew close to my characters. They felt very real to me. I feel that their lives continue somewhere, now that the book is done, and I wish them well.



A letter to readers from David Almond, about My Dad's a Birdman

Dear Reader,

Most of my work has been for older children, but one of the joys of being a children's writer is the variety of possible forms: long novels, short novels, chapter books, picture books, poetry, plays... The children's book world is a place of great creativity and experimentation, and I like to keep moving forward, to take up new challenges.

My Dad's a Birdman began life as a play commissioned by the Young Vic Theatre, in London. I started doodling and scribbling, and images of wings and flying were everywhere on the page. Jackie Crow appeared, strapping homemade wings to his back, and his daughter, Lizzie, and dumpy Auntie Doreen with her dumplings, and Mr. Mint and Mr. Poop, and pretty soon there was a Great Human Bird Competition going on, and the script was leaping and flying into life. I loved writing for a younger audience, loved the process of collaborating with a director, a designer, a company of actors.

After, I put the script in a drawer, but the story stayed with me, and soon I found myself scribbling again: An ordinary spring morning at 12 Lark Lane... Within four days, I had the first draft. It helped to imagine my eight-year-old daughter, Freya, as reader, and to begin to think of it as an illustrated book. The right artist would bring her or his own vision to the story, just as my collaborators in the theatre had done before. But which artist? "Polly Dunbar!" the publisher said, and since I already knew Polly's wonderful work, I crossed my fingers. Now I can no longer imagine my story without it.

There is some darkness in My Dad's a Birdman, of course, but I think I found a way to make the story joyous, optimistic, life-affirming.

I'm proud of it, and when I look at it, with Polly's lovely leaping illustrations, it makes me feel very happy.

I do hope you enjoy it.

All best wishes,

David

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by David Almond at BookBrowse
The Color of the Sun jacket A Song for Ella Grey jacket The Tightrope Walkers jacket The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for David Almond but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Almond

    David Almond

    David Almond, in his own words:

    I was born in Newcastle and I grew up in a big Catholic family in Felling-on-Tyne. I had four sisters and a brother and lots of relatives in the streets nearby. My dad had been in Burma ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Raven Summer

    Try:
    The Tightrope Walkers
    by David Almond

  • Niccolò Ammaniti

    Niccolò Ammaniti

    Niccolò Ammaniti was born in Rome in 1966. He is the author of three novels, as well as a collection of short stories. At thirty-four, he was the youngest ever winner of the prestigious Viareggio-Repaci prize for I'm Not... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Raven Summer

    Try:
    I'm Not Scared
    by Niccolò Ammaniti

We recommend 34 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.