Ann Cummins Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Ann Cummins
Photo: Steve Willis

Ann Cummins

An interview with Ann Cummins

Ann Cummins discusses her first novel, Yellowcake, a multi-generational and multicultural story set in a former uranium milling community.

Why is your novel titled Yellowcake?

My novel is set in the uranium-rich lands of the American Southwest, the Four Corners area, including the San Juan Mountains of Colorado and the Navajo Indian reservation in northern New Mexico and Arizona. My subject is the lives of Navajos and Anglos for whom the mining and milling of uranium was a way of life from the fifties through the early seventies. Yellowcake, a controversial energy source used to power both nuclear bombs and power plants, comes from processed uranium ore. I titled my novel Yellowcake in part because the making of yellowcake was such an important element of my characters' lives, but also because it's a long-lived energy source emitting radiation for years after the ore is mined. My novel is set in 1991, twenty years after the closing of many uranium mines and mills on the Colorado Plateau, but my characters continue to feel the industry's effects in many ways — physically, emotionally, and spiritually. History and the present converge in the characters. Yellowcake, or rather the "half-life" of the processed ore, represents the echoes and consequences of historical events and how they play out in the present.


So is it like the Karen Silkwood story about environmental hazards associated with uranium?

Only a small part of the story explores environmental hazards. I'm more interested in creating complex characters driven by a range of interests in the land and in each other. I tell the story from five points of view. One character, an ailing man in his sixties, a former uranium mill foreman, comes from generations of miners and has always seen mining as his legacy, his right. Even though he's sick, he is not quick to blame, and environmentalists irritate him. Another, a twenty-five-year-old Navajo woman whose father worked in the mill and was diagnosed with cancer at an early age, is angry at the industry, and yet she feels conflicted, too. She turns to Western medicine to help her father and thereby alienates her Navajo grandmother, who is as suspicious of Western medicine as of the uranium industry that she believes made her son sick. My other characters play out different conflicts. An Anglo mill worker who had an affair with a Navajo woman who was a rodeo pro obsesses about his lover twenty years later, though he rarely sees her. His mixed-blood son, virtually fatherless and raised by a mother who was always on the road, has grown up to be a solo flyer. For this young man family is tenuous; he has come to believe he has only himself to rely on, but still his big passions get him into trouble. There is also the story of a uranium mill divorcée who lives in the half-life of a marriage gone bad, still haunted by memories of her ex-husband.


Why did you choose this subject?

I grew up in the Colorado Plateau area and, like some of my characters, I'm from generations of Colorado miners. So the history and landscape are personal to me. My father was a uranium mill worker in Durango, Colorado, and his company began operating a mill in Shiprock, New Mexico, on the Navajo reservation when I was nine. So the reservation, too, is personal to me. I lived there for nine years and went to public school there.


To what degree does autobiography play into your fiction?

It's interesting to answer that question at the end of a project rather than at the beginning. When I started this novel, my intent was to write a story based on my parents' marriage, using the uranium industry for plot. My parents had a long marriage; my father was sick for the last nine years of it, and my mother took care of him until he died. It was hard work and literally broke her back. To be honest, such a burden frightens me, so I wanted to create characters that would allow me to explore that sort of commitment. I had Tilly Olsen's Tell Me a Riddle at the back of my mind. That book, so brutal and beautiful, is such a moving portrayal of a marriage that has atrophied under the burden of historical events — in Olsen's case, the Holocaust — that continue to play out for decades in the characters' minds. I wrote a couple of hundred pages about this testy old guy bucking against his growing dependence on others, who all blame his work in uranium for his illness. As usually happens with my characters, this guy quickly developed into somebody very different from my father. As the story develops, the characters encounter problems, and they have to improvise to solve them.

Improvisation is the life source for my characters, who, through the drafts of the book, matured into wholly unique people. I was pretty happy with how my couple wrestled with each other, but the book was turning into bitter medicine because the subject was illness. My editor suggested I try some other points of view to broaden the story. It was a great suggestion. It got me out of the sick room and into New Mexico's high northern desert, a landscape I love, and it allowed me to do something that frightens me, writing from the perspective of characters who are racially and culturally different from me. Risky business, I think, but a challenge worth taking, especially when trying to tell how these events affected a diverse community. I find character-driven fiction liberating. Ultimately, I'm interested in creating individuals, not races or cultures, though I guess individuality, race, and culture are intertwined. It helps to know something about the people one auditions for fiction, which brings me back to autobiography. This is a novel about the kinds of people I grew up among, set in a place I know well, but while the characters and story germinated — in fact, they matured — in the imagination.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Ann Cummins at BookBrowse
Yellowcake jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Ann Cummins but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jennifer Haigh

    Jennifer Haigh

    Jennifer Haigh is a novelist and short story writer. She was born in 1968 in Barnesboro, a Western Pennsylvania coal town 85 miles northeast of Pittsburgh in Cambria County. She attended Dickinson College in Carlisle, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Yellowcake

    Try:
    Baker Towers
    by Jennifer Haigh

  • Tony Hillerman

    Tony Hillerman

    Tony Hillerman, author of many novels including the Leaphorn/Chee mystery series, died in October 2008 at the age of 83.

    A past president of the Mystery Writers of America and recipient of their Edgar and Grand Master ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Yellowcake

    Try:
    Skeleton Man
    by Tony Hillerman

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Winter in Sokcho
    Winter in Sokcho
    by Elisa Dusapin
    Our unnamed narrator is a young French-Korean woman who works at a guest house in Sokcho, a popular ...
  • Book Jacket: Second Place
    Second Place
    by Rachel Cusk
    Rachel Cusk's Outline trilogy drew much of its substance from monologues and dialogues that swirled ...
  • Book Jacket: The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    by Julietta Henderson
    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman is the comedic debut novel of writer Julietta Henderson. It ...
  • Book Jacket: In Search of a Kingdom
    In Search of a Kingdom
    by Laurence Bergreen
    The Age of Exploration in the early modern period, lasting roughly from the 15th through 16th ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Girl in His Shadow
by Audrey Blake
The story of one woman who believed in scientific medicine before the world believed in her.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

  • Book Jacket

    Ariadne
    by Jennifer Saint

    A mesmerizing debut novel about Ariadne, Princess of Crete for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.

Who Said...

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S I T closet

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.